Understanding HOW & WHY, a Behavioral Science Story

Leo Petal
3 min readFeb 26, 2020

--

I am Leo Petal

Behavioral Science has been the key to my success and the success of so many others since I was 13 years old. When I was 13, I wrote an essay that won me a scholarship to the University of Michigan, Flint and part of that scholarship was to receive career coaching from the University of Michigan, Flint. A classmate and I won the scholarship out of thousands of entries and what really made opportunities clear was taking the Myers Briggs Type Indicator Assessment, the MBTI tool provides a great deal of insight into how we’re likely to think, act and interact in a particular work environment–making it useful in career selection and exploration. Both my classmate and I decided upon the recommendations from the assessment to study business in college. Today we both earned MBA’s in business and are successful business people, here the interesting anecdote, she is a total introvert and I am an extrovert, both of us are in sales and both are immensely successful!

In 2006, I started Noblesteps Management a career exploration company to help student-athletes identify their majors before going to college, every client I worked with ended up picking and sticking to their majors and all of them work in their major currently after playing college sports and earning a degree that actually qualified them for jobs!! Although I loved working with the student-athletes, I did not design the business to be a non-profit..lol.

Today, I help student-athletes transition beyond sports and breathe success in business and entrepreneurship using a different tool, the DISC. I am now certified to coach people with two (2) behavioral science tools the DISC and the MBTI, what I like about the DISC is how it simplifies behaviors into 4 different groups consisting of introverts and extroverts and works with decision-making, interactive, pace and following rules. There is no right or wrong answers and the results are ground breaking to say the least! Since using the tool I have helped dozens of student-athletes realize and gain insight into how they behave and how that is affecting their relationships, networking style, why thy move at the pace they do and why jobs have been a dead end but starting a business accelerated their growth. I call my program Gametime Success and built around my book Breathe Success and the DISC and it provides participants a model framework for how and why they do what they, set’s in motion a plan to achieve goals, promotes INTEGRITY as a key mortar to achieve those goals and answers questions on how to navigate the business and entrepreneur landscape with the natural characteristics of your behavioral.

As a child, I was immensely opinionated and I am still am, so if you guessed it I talked back to my parents which in my home was a no-no. My mom would often say, you don’t pay the bills here, don’t ask my why!! My curiosity got me in a lot of trouble, my step-father would ask, who do you think you are? In all it was my high decision making behaviors and my high desire to understand everything about everything. Today as a business owner, nothing has changed here, except when I hired my first intern, he had to take the DISC to make sure he was a phenomenal fit for my team. When I consulted with my mentors about the hiring, they were excited to hear I took such a high level of detail to determine my first employee and he is a grand slam home run hire!

In closing, use the Mamba Mentality that Kobe Bryant used to build your legacy, he was a detailed oriented and obsessed individual. If you are serious about earning high 6-figures, $500–600K or high 7 figures $8–9 million, leave no stone uncovered, including how and why to build the best you! Know “how” you are in decision making, interactions, pace and caution. Know “why” you get the outcomes you are experiencing and how to get the reps to improve your blind spots! Blind Spots are your room for improvement and if you don’t care what they are, you elephant mentality, laziness..lol.

I’m Leo Petal, let’s talkb- Go to: leopetal.com/bookleo/ and let’s get on the path to being phenomenal in all you beyond sports at a more intimate level.

--

--