Alexandria Sage
1 min readJan 31, 2017

--

When I was 14 or 15, I had a Borders club card where as you spent money on books… you earned rewards. At the end of the year, I got a $40 credit to spend at ‘Borders.’ Boy, oh, boy! I was ecstatic.

When I went into the store to buy more books, I asked “How did I earn this?”

“Oh, you spent $800+ on books in the past year and a half.”

My mom was with me. She rolled her eyes. I laughed. Every extra penny I earned from chores, birthdays, etc. I spent on books. Most I read, a few I did not.

Books are always an investment.

Somewhere in college, I lost some of my love for reading. I had 100’s of pages of reading a week and it became a chore.

Until, I was assigned to read “The Princess Bride” and “Watchmen” for an adaption writing class. Holy shit. The love of reading is back.

My goal this year is to read at minimum 52 books across all genres. I love reading. Here’s to spending, what some deem, a ridiculous amount on books.

Edit: In general, I donate books I don’t absolutely fall in love with(or write in a bunch) to local underfunded schools where ever I’m living at the time.

--

--