Breakthrough: I Had A 3-Layered Vision — A Vision Inside A Vision Inside A Vision

I wanted to master my introverted intuition (my ego’s ability to “see” things) but I didn’t know this was possible.

Lilla Wonders
8 min readAug 12, 2023
Illustration: Mandy The Adventurous, 2023

One evening, I met my Higher Self/Animus/Soulmate/Twin soul inside the vision where we usually meet. On board my vision ship.

Here’s the link to the boat exercise if you’d like to try it for yourself:

My feet touched the wooden floor as I approached my Higher Self. I was completely naked while he was wearing his regular outfit — a white t-shirt and beige pants.

“What are we going to do tonight?” I asked.

“We’re going to visualize.”

His answer didn’t surprise me. He’d already mentioned we soon needed to start visualizing my life as an artist. The life I want to live in the physical world.

“We can identify the blocks that stand between you and your dream. Maybe even dissolve them inside the visions”, he explained.

That evening was the first time we were about to try his theory in practice. I was a bit skeptical. He was asking me inside the vision to have another vision. Is that even possible?

Seeing my hesitation, he sent me an encouraging smile and took my hand. He guided me to the cabin of my ship.

“I wanted to go to my lair tonight”, I said.

The lair was the deepest part of the ship. The most silent, most intimate place I could go with him to lock out the overwhelming sensations from the physical world.

“We can go there next time.”

Instead of my lair, he took me in the opposite direction, to the highest point of the ship. It’s a small cozy spot under the open sky, close to the stars. The small comfy place reminds me of a basket of an airship. Just enough space for two souls to lie down and watch the night sky.

I removed his clothes and threw them out of the basket. I giggle at him like a mischievous child every time a piece of clothing disappeared in the air. I was already naked so it was only fair. He watched me with patience until we both stood there fully naked.

“Lie down”, he ordered me in his gentle tone.

I lay down and he joined me on the soft blankets. We’d been enjoying the view of the stars for a few minutes before he talked again.

“Close your eyes and imagine yourself as an artist.”

I did as he said but found it a bit hard to focus. I was already lying on my bed in the physical reality, having a vision of us lying under the stars. And now, I was supposed to close my eyes in the vision to have a second vision.

I experienced “dream inside of a dream inside of a dream” scenarios before but with visions?! That sounded bizarre even to me.

But I tried anyway.

When I closed my vision eyes, everything went blurry and chaotic. The voices and faces of some unpleasant family members appeared in my mind. As if they were there just to annoy me. I hated it.

“I can’t do it.”

“Yes, you can. It’s okay, just try one more time. These pictures won’t hurt you, it’s just your Shadow trying to confuse you.”

“I know”, I mumbled.

“Those pictures are nothing more than an annoying factor, you already know that. They just come and go”, he added.

I tried again.

The faces showed up a few more times, and the vision was still blurry. Pictures appeared and disappeared without allowing me to see what they were. It felt like my brain was struggling to keep up. But then slowly it managed to find focus.

“I see the ocean. I’m in the water. I’m wearing a white dress.”

The water reached only my ankle. It was bizarre as it seemed I was standing in the middle of the open sea.

“Good”, my Higher Self said in a cheerful tone.

“How is this imagining myself as an artist? I don’t think this is the right vision.”

“You see this for a reason. Tell me what else you see.”

“I’m in the open sea but the water reaches only my ankle. I’m standing on a rock. I don’t know why there are rocks in the middle of the ocean.”

“What else do you see?”

I looked over the horizon.

“The water is calm and pretty. But the sky is grey. Light grey.”

I watched the water for a bit longer.

“I still don’t understand what exactly the ocean represents. Sometimes it’s you, my Consciousness. But sometimes it’s my Unconscious. How is that possible?”

“You’re right, it is both. But you don’t have to understand how, for now”, he explained. His tone was calm and gentle as always.

“Okay…”

“What else is happening inside the vision?”

I gazed at the deep blue water.

“Not much… I’m just standing here. It feels nice and stable on the rock…”

“Okay. Now let go of it.”

I wasn’t happy with his answer. Can I just have a little break and stability?

“But I’m in the open sea! If I let go, I need to swim in the open sea!”

Then I felt something strange in my feet. They were not only stable but…

“What is it?” he asked.

“I think my feet are attached to the rock! I couldn’t let go even if I wanted to. I can’t move!”

“You can move, love. Just try to move your feet again, gently.”

His reaction was so centered, so warm, I suddenly felt like I didn’t even need the rock under my feet. His stability would hold me even there in the open sea.

I tried to move again and he was right. It felt like the invisible chains that attached my feet to the rock were nothing more than an illusion. I slowly lifted my feet one by one, and I succeeded.

“It works! And the water didn’t sweep me away either. I’m still standing.”

“Great”, he said patiently.

I wanted to see more. I wanted to see the ocean behind me. But before I could have turned around, I felt a slight pull backward. I wanted to ask what was going on, but before I had the chance, I was pulled out of the ocean vision.

This time, I was sitting on a chair with a brush in my hand. I was looking at a canvas — a painting of a woman standing in the open sea.

My previous vision was a painting. And I was the artist painting it.

“What’s happening? What are you seeing?” my Higher Self asked, his voice still calm.

“The ocean scene was a picture. It’s me who painted it. I still have the brush in my hand… I’m feeling great, my hair is freshly washed and wavy. I think it’s summer. Or maybe spring.”

I was amazed. A vision inside of a vision inside of a vision. I was having a three-layered vision.

“Okay, now look around. Where are you?”

I put the paintbrush down and left my chair.

“I’m in the studio corner of a small house. It’s cozy and there’s so much light coming through the window. I feel this warmth like… Like it all belongs to me. I think this is my house. Oh, the window is open!”

“Can you walk there and look out of the window?”

“I can.”

I saw a beautiful green space with blooming flowers and trees. There was another small cottage house only a few meters from my window — my neighbor’s home. For some reason, I felt happy it was so close to mine.

“I want you to look around in the house a bit more”, my Higher Self said.

I walked around and saw a nice, open kitchen. A big wooden desk with my laptop. My artboard with my illustrations. My old office chair. One of my beloved plants.

I walked to the living room to find a big TV screen and a super comfy grey couch with thick cushions, pillows, and blankets.

“I love this! It looks so comfy!”

“I like it too”, he agreed.

“But I don’t understand... Aren’t I supposed to see myself working? My artist career? My schedule, my work process, or something like that?”

My Higher Self appeared next to me in the living room.

“You’re seeing this for a reason”, he said. “Look around, you made it. You made it with art. What you see here, this house, this life… It’s all yours.”

I tried to take it all in. I made it. I live here in this peaceful, cozy home that’s mine. I live on my terms. I’m painting my pictures and telling my stories. That’s my life.

“So what am I supposed to do now?” I asked.

“Try to stay here for a little longer.”

We stood there for a few minutes silently.

“Would you like to see my painting?” I asked him.

“Of course.”

We walked to the canvas and sat down.

“I don’t understand why the sky is so grey. Is a storm approaching us?” I asked. I felt a bit anxious about the grey sky.

“I don’t think so. But even if a storm’s coming, we’ll manage. Together.”

“Just like the last time we had a storm on the ocean.”

“Exactly. We can manage anything together.”

I accepted his answer.

Soon after, I came out of the vision and found myself back in the first one. The layer 1 vision on my ship. We were lying next to each other, our arms touching. The stars were shining above us in the black sky.

I lay on my side to look him in the eyes. He did the same. It didn’t matter it was dark, we could see each other clearly.

“Do you think I should make the same illustration in the physical reality?”

“Yes, I think so. Let’s make it tomorrow!”

I smiled at him as he stroked my face.

“I’m so proud of you, you know that? You did so well with the visions”, he praised.

He tells me he’s proud of me all the time but I’m still not used to the encouraging words.

“Oh… Thank you.”

“And the painting was beautiful, I liked it.”

”I love you”, he added.

“I love you too.”

He kept looking at me patiently until I was able to take it in. His love, his praise, his presence.

And then he pulled me to him for an eternal kiss…

--

--

Lilla Wonders

The Higher Self Chronicle. I create illustrations and write about my consciousness journey. ✨ Most important info: https://linktr.ee/thelillahalasz