Pointers in C/C++ Cheat Sheet

Marisol Hernandez
2 min readDec 18, 2023

--

Hey there, fellow learners and tech enthusiasts! I’m Marisol Hernández, a data scientist by training, navigating the exciting world of web application development in a small startup. Recently, I started on a journey to strengthen my understanding of fundamental computer science concepts, beginning with the concept of Pointers.

The Quest for Knowledge

Having pursued data science in both undergrad and grad school, I realized there were gaps in my foundational computer science knowledge. Eager to bring my A-game to work, I asked one of my colleagues with a solid CS background if they could point me to some external resources. One recommendation was a Youtube Playlist on Pointers in C/C++.

Demystifying Pointers

If there’s one concept that often feels incomprehensible to beginners, it’s pointers. The course did an amazing job of demystifying this concept. As someone who thrives on making meaningful contributions to the startup, understanding pointers became paramount.

The instructor’s approach made all the difference. The instructor has a talent for breaking down complex concepts into digestible nuggets. Concepts that once seemed complex and incomprehensible became clear, and I found myself navigating the concept of pointers with confidence.

Real-world Impact

What I found particularly intriguing was how the understanding of pointers directly translated into my daily work. Building a web application involves intricate details, and my newfound knowledge of pointers enhanced my contributions significantly.

I began to see the significance of memory allocation during runtime. This insight not only improved the efficiency of my code but also provided a deeper appreciation for the intricacies of application development.

Crafting a Cheat Sheet

To consolidate my learnings and offer a quick reference for others, I put together a cheat sheet. It’s my way of giving back to the community and helping both new learners and those seeking a refresher. You can find the cheat sheet below.

Pointers in C/C++ Cheat Sheet

Encouragement for Fellow Learners

If you’re diving into the world of pointers or any challenging concept, remember that every expert was once a beginner. Embrace the journey, celebrate small victories, and don’t hesitate to seek out resources that resonate with your learning style.

Happy coding, and may your journey in the world of technology be as enlightening as mine!

--

--