42 Piscine Day 12 — Exam01 (09)

Mike Brave
2 min readSep 1, 2018

--

Edit: This is part of a series that culminated here, Next post. Previous post.

Edit2: I consolidated all the posts of the piscine daily posts here

Edit3: You can read up about what it’s like as a cadet at 42 here

I failed my test, and I failed it for stupid things that I thought I knew, and I thought I could figure out, and that I thought I had mastered. But when I needed the knowledge the most, it escaped me and I coded things that were so close to what was needed, but ultimately not enough.

I’m embarrassed, and angry at myself for not being more prepared, not having used my time as wisely as I should have. If I could do it again I would have worked on a few test preparation questions a day, everyday instead of trying to study for two days before the exam. As I studied for the exam I found gaps in my more foundational knowledge that needed addressing so it’s been one of the most useful exercises I’ve done so far. I feel left in the dust by the current assignments because I never completely grasped some of those concepts that were needed but tried to carry on all the same.

So new plan, allocate a certain amount of time to learn, a certain amount to figure, and a certain amount to ask questions. Then I will spend the rest of my time going over test prep questions and asking for help until I completely understand the concepts and can build it in my sleep.

The silver lining of my failing is that a lot of people I didn’t really know before have ended up being really kind and sort of supportive. I’m grateful for that at least, it has relieved some of those feelings of aloneness that I was previously struggling with.

Day nine was technically easy points, but oddly allocated, I didn’t get any of it done as I was studying. I may have chosen poorly here.

That’s all for now, I’ll try to get something done tonight, until tomorrow.

--

--