3 Books Every Parent Needs on their Shelf

The Modern Mean Mom
2 min readApr 25, 2022

--

It’s easy to get overwhelmed by all the content available these days when it comes to the subject of parenting and discipline. These 3 books are palatable and quick reads.

  1. Dear Parent: Caring for Infants with Respect by Magda Gerber

If we think of parenting as a house, then this book is the foundation. I think we can all agree on a definition of “respect” but what does it actually look like when applied to infants? Magda explains in beautiful simplicity how you can start respecting your children right now! You don’t need to have a degree in early childhood education or special training, the only prerequisite is loving your baby.

Pro tip: YouTube some Magda Gerber interviews for a glimpse of her character and calming presence.

2. Elevating Childcare: A Guide to Respectful Parenting by Janet Lansbury

If Magda Gerber is the Yoda of Respectful Parenting, then Janet Lansbury is Obi Wan Kenobi (for my Star Wars fans). This was the first book I read when I discovered I was pregnant with my son and my introduction to the concept of respectful parenting. I listened to the audiobook on my drives to and from work and knew immediately this was the road map I wanted to follow. Lansbury has a simplicity in how she explains topics that make you go “oh duh, of course that makes sense!” She shares real-life examples from raising her own children and teaching parent-infant classes at the RIE Institute in Los Angeles.

Pro tip: listen to the audiobook and be cocooned in the blanket that is Lansbury’s soothing voice.

3. The Whole Brain Child: 12 Revolutionary Steps to Nurture Your Child’s Developing Mind by Daniel J. Siegel, M.D. and Tina Payne Bryson, Ph.D.

If you have toddlers, this book is ESSENTIAL! I have read it twice and will definitely read it for a third time soon. Not going to lie, you feel like an amateur neuroscientist after you read it. Understanding a few basic concepts of brain chemistry, and especially the capabilities of a toddler brain, helped me build empathy for my son when he started “tantrumming” around the age of 2. And the strategies the authors introduce are, chef’s kiss! Also, this book is not just for parents of toddlers, the authors share stories and strategies for older children as well.

Pro tip: have your best mom friend(s) read it and enrich your discussions at your next play date! I recommended this book to my best friend, and not only did she LOVE it she started using a few strategies right away. We frequently come back to this book when discussing our children (and honestly when are we not discussing our children?!?)

Happy reading!

--

--

The Modern Mean Mom

To raise kind humans sometimes you have to be a mean mom. It takes a village — join mine! Inspired by the work of Magda Gerber.