I’m Building A Tiny House…And THIS Is What Scares Me

The Mom Forum
4 min readMar 22, 2018

Here’s the thing…my fear DOESN’T stem from the reduced space and complete life change.

My husband and I are building a 400 square foot tiny home on wheels. We sold our 2,000 square foot home in Los Angeles in order to simplify our lives and spend more time with our son. There were many life events that catapulted this decision and it was one we didn’t take lightly. Just one year ago I would have never considered living in a tiny home but life has a peculiar way of drastically changing your perspective. We have all the faith in the world this is the best decision for us right now and I have no regrets thus far.

The house is looking awesome (if I do say so myself) even better than I envisioned. I’ve reveled in the gleaming sweat and tears we’ve shed during the build. Oh yes… I took the hammer, the power tools, and the “manly toys” and got to it. The build has been one of the most difficult challenges we’ve brought upon our family but I can now see a solid bottle of wine (or 2 or 3) and an entire chocolate cake waiting for me as I cross that finish line. I’m bruised, cut up, sore and dead tired so I get giddy with excitement at the thought of finishing it. However, I’M SCARED SHITLESS OF MOVING IN!

Yes, the unknowns are pretty deep and scary. Yes, we’ve invested so much into something we don’t really know…

--

--