Ezra Miller: Not Quite the LGBTQ Superhero We’re Looking For

In a world full of icons, here’s why Ezra Miller isn’t the one we need. Buckle up for a wild ride.

Nathan Chen
6 min readApr 27, 2023
Photo by Playboy

Let me just say, before we dive in, that I am 100% here for celebrating LGBTQ icons. I’ve got my room plastered with rainbow flags, and I’ve spent countless nights binge-watching Rupaul’s Drag Race. But when it comes to Ezra Miller, I’m not sure they are the icon we truly need.

Now, before you grab your pitchforks and rally against me on Twitter, hear me out. I promise this won’t be a total drag (pun intended).

The Flash of Confusion: A Mixed Bag of Representation

Ezra Miller made a splash when they stepped onto the scene as Barry Allen, aka The Flash, in the DC Extended Universe. I’ll admit, I had my fair share of fan moments watching them zip across the screen. However, when it comes to their off-screen persona, things get a little murky.

Miller identifies as queer, and while that is absolutely valid and awesome, their representation of the LGBTQ community is a little… all over the place. They’ve made comments in interviews that have left some of us scratching our heads. Remember when they said, “I don’t identify as a man. I don’t identify as…

--

--

Nathan Chen

I'm Nathan Chen, a queer Asian writer advocating for LGBTQ+ issues, Asian representation, work life & mental health. Let's explore life's complexities together!