Get Ready for the Ride of Your Life: Joy Ride is the Must-See Film of the Summer!

Nathan Chen
3 min readMar 28, 2023

Alright people, are you ready for the ride of your life? Buckle up because Joy Ride is coming in hot, and it’s going to be one hell of a journey. As an Asian American millennial, I am so excited about this movie, and I cannot wait to share with you all the reasons why.

First off, let’s talk about the cast. Oh my god, have you seen these hot girls and guys? We have Ashley Park, Sherry Cola, Stephanie Hsu, and Sabrina Wu leading the way as our four badass Asian-American women traveling through Asia in search of Audrey’s birth mother. But it doesn’t stop there. We also have Ronny Chieng, Lori Tan Chinn, David Denman, Annie Mumolo, Desmond Chiam, Alexander Hodge, and Chris Pang, just to name a few. This cast is stacked, and I am here for it.

But it’s not just about the hotness factor. I am so thrilled to see this level of Asian representation on the big screen. As an Asian American, I have grown tired of seeing the same stereotypical roles played by Asians in Hollywood. It’s refreshing to see a movie with a cast that looks like me, telling a story that is relatable and authentic to my experience. This movie represents progress, and it’s a step in the right direction.

Now, let’s talk about the plot and twists. Four women traveling through Asia in search of Audrey’s birth mother? Count me in. I love a good adventure story, and this one sounds like it’s going to be a wild ride. From what we know, it seems like there will be…

--

--

Nathan Chen

I'm Nathan Chen, a queer Asian writer advocating for LGBTQ+ issues, Asian representation, work life & mental health. Let's explore life's complexities together!