The Nib
The Nib
May 9 · Unlisted

Bibliography

al-Haqq Kugle, Scott Siraj. ​“Sexuality and Diversity.”​ Muslims for Progressive Values, 2010, www.mpvusa.org/sexuality-diversity

Alimi, Bisi. ​“If You Say Being Gay Is Not African, You Don’t Know Your History.”​ The Guardian, Guardian News and Media, 9 Sept. 2015, www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2015/sep/09/being-gay-african-history-homosexuality-christianity

Bradley, John R. ​“The Muslim World Is More Tolerant of Homosexuality than You Think.” ​The Spectator, 25 Oct. 2017, www.spectator.co.uk/2017/10/the-muslim-world-is-more-tolerant-of-homosexuality-than-you-think/

Calimach, Andrew. ​“Gay Phoenicians?! Who Cares!”​ Talking about Male Love, 15 Dec. 2010, www.gay-art-history.org/gay-blog/2010/12/semitic-homosexuality-david-jonathan/

Creech, Jimmy. ​“What Does the Bible Say About Homosexuality?”​ Human Rights Campaign, www.hrc.org/resources/what-does-the-bible-say-about-homosexuality

“Gay Muslim Heroes: Mahmud of Ghazni and Ayaz.”​ Talking about Male Love, 26 Nov. 2010, www.gay-art-history.org/gay-blog/2010/11/mahmud-of-ghazni-and-ayaz/

Greenblatt, Stephen. ​“How St. Augustine Invented Sex.” T​he New Yorker, 12 June 2017. www.newyorker.com/magazine/2017/06/19/how-st-augustine-invented-sex

Murray, Stephen O, and Will Roscoe. ​Boy-Wives and Female Husbands: Studies in African Homosexualities​. Palgrave, 2001.

Nawaz, Maajid. ​“Why Does Gay Sex Scare Modern Muslims? It Didn’t in the Golden Age.”​ The Daily Beast, The Daily Beast Company, 13 Apr. 2016, www.thedailybeast.com/why-does-gay-sex-scare-modern-muslims-it-didnt-in-the-golden-age

“North Africa During the Classical Period.” A​ncient History Encyclopedia, Library of Congress, 15 Dec. 2011, www.ancient.eu/article/293/north-africa-during-the-classical-period/

Reeder, Greg. ​“Same-Sex Desire, Conjugal Constructs, and the Tomb of Niankhkhnum and Khnumhotep.”​ ​World Archaeology​, vol. 32, no. 2, Oct. 2000, pp. 193–208., doi:10.1080/00438240050131180

Terence. ​“Abu Nuwas, Islamic Poet of Male Love.” ​Abu Nuwas, Islamic Poet of Male Love, 19 Sept. 2011, queerhistory.blogspot.com/2011/09/abu-nuwas-islamic-poet-of-male-love.html

Tharoor, Ishaan. ​“Justice Roberts Cited the Traditions of Four Cultures in His Dissent on Gay Marriage. Here’s What He Didn’t Mention.” T​ he Washington Post, WP Company, 26 June 2015, www.washingtonpost.com/news/worldviews/wp/2015/06/26/justice-roberts-cited-the-traditions-of-four-cultures-in-his-dissent-on-gay-marriage-heres-what-he-didnt-mention/?noredirect=on&utm_term=.984e0757149f

Wallin, Yasha. ​“Here’s What LGBT Life In The Middle East Is Really Like.” ​GOOD, 31 July 2016, www.good.is/features/lgbt-life-middle-east​

Wilford, John Noble. “A Mystery, Locked in Timeless Embrace.” ​The New York Times​, The New York Times, 20 Dec. 2005, www.nytimes.com/2005/12/20/science/a-mystery-locked-in-timeless-embrace.html?_r=0

Zakaria, Rafia. ​“Sex and the Muslim Feminist.” T​ he New Republic, 13 Nov. 2015, newrepublic.com/article/123590/sex-and-the-muslim-feminist

Unlisted

    The Nib

    Written by

    The Nib

    Get our comics in your inbox: www.thenib.com/daily