The noisy room

Noah Douglas
2 min readFeb 7, 2022

a short story

Photo by Gabriele Stravinskaite on Unsplash

I wake up and see two doors available to me;

the first is a room filled with people and the second one seems empty- I navigate into the one with people in it.

Movement is quick and hurried, frantic and chaotic, harsh and rushed.

Sounds piercing of 1000 voices.

The people in the room are walking around in circles with

heads down. The occasional pause to lift their heads when they bump into each other- but then they keep moving.

I stop this girl ahead of me and get a quick glance at her eyes before she hurries away into the crowd- deep sadness

is there but more than that- purposeless; her soul is like a kite in the wind.

Slowly I become more attuned to the voices, they are all chanting the same thing over and over-

PERDITUS SUM, PERDITUS SUM, PERDITUS SUM- I think ‘What are you saying?!’

This room can’t be my only option- I remember when I opened my eyes there was another door so

I rush to the exit.

Chains free from me when I exit the prison cell.

Relief temporarily grabs a hold of me shortly replaced by the awe of my situation, I think

--

--

Noah Douglas

Perpetually curious. Journeyman of faith† Runner, writer, marketer // other work: noahdouglas.net