listtuPhoto by Logan Nolin on Unsplash

5 Morning Routine Habits for Self-Care

“It’s not selfish to love yourself, take care of yourself, and to make your happiness a priority. It’s necessary.” — Mandy Hale

Theodora Laie

--

It’s really important to add self-care into your daily morning routine. In short, self-care is an activity that we deliberately do to take care of our mental, emotional and physical health.

These are my top five favourite morning routine habits that make me feel like I’m taking care of myself and just adding things that I enjoy into my routine. I wanted to share this with you to get you thinking about somethings that you could add into your daily routine or even make you aware of the things that you are already doing.

  1. Morning coffee

I truly love my morning coffee. Every day, when I woke up from bed, the first thing in my mind is to make myself a cup of coffee.

Nothing says good morning like a fresh cup of coffee.

The caffeine in coffee is what helps me to feel more alert and awake after drinking it.

Photo by Jen P. on Unsplash

2. Journaling

Early this year, I decided to start journaling. Journaling is a way for me to get my thoughts organized and make them apprehensible.

A journal is a good place to write goals, ambitions, daily reflection and new year resolutions.

By keeping them in a diary, I can monitor my progress and also take a step back to reflect on myself and what I can do to improve myself.

Photo by Plush Design Studio on Unsplash

3. Exercise

Self-care is all about improving ourselves and having more energy to be more engaged with our surroundings. Personally, I do love to exercise because I enjoy seeing the physical changes to my body every time I workout consistently.

Exercising is not just beneficial physically, but also mentally.

It is a great outlet for me to take my mind off of problems and troubling thoughts.

Photo by Derick McKinney on Unsplash

4. Avoid Digitals

Try to challenge yourself with having some tech-free moments for half an hour or so.

Carve out time in the morning to do nothing but sit and mentally prepare our mind for the day.

Also, I try to avoid reading the news first thing after waking. As of today, the news is flooded with lots of negativity. News like the COVID-19 pandemic outbreak, plummeting oil price, are news that will make my brain be filled with negative vibes and makes me wonder whether I should leave the house today. My point here is, by avoiding grabbing our phone first thing in the morning and scrolling through the notifications to our heart's content, we can use the quiet morning to our full advantage instead.

Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

5. Writing a to-do list

There is something very satisfying about setting myself up with a little bit of structure for the day and having an idea of the things that I need to do.

To me, my list is an anchor.

It keeps me grateful, motivated, focused, and organized. Making a to-do list also helps me in tricking my brain that I’ve done the tasks, and I would feel less overwhelmed by it. I also make my tasks manageable by breaking it down into smaller steps and keeping it short and precise as possible.

Photo by Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash

So, those are my top 5-morning routine habits that I absolutely love and enjoy doing. I do feel like I really am looking after myself when I do these things in the morning. Give it a try and see the difference for yourself.

--

--