Who’s Playing at The Outer Loop?

August Edition: Justin Maniaje

The Outer Loop Blog
4 min readAug 28, 2019
Justin Maniaje

We’re back in the States after a hugely successful Humanity Project trip to Tanzania! And as the summer comes to an end… we’re rounding out our series of Tanzanian powerhouse artists.

As you may have already heard, we completed several new projects on this trip, including the creation of a new play, “Uponyaji,” which is Swahili for “healing.” At the beginning of the play process, we asked all of our collaborators to answer this question: “What does it mean to heal?” Some chose to answer in monologue form, some in scene form, some danced and played the drums… and this month’s featured artist, answered in the style we’ve become accustomed to… with a brilliant song. Allow us to introduce you to the supremely talented singer/songwriter, Justin Maniaje…

So Justin, what’s your art?

I am a musician, actor and professional storyteller. I also write and sing gospel music (Gospeller). I currently have four songs I can compose and sing in three different languages: Swahili, English, and Bena (vernacular language). I believe through gospel music people can be healed and entertained, and it can also help people get closer to God. And by being closer to God, people are able to think about others, help those in need, and love others without considering their color, sex, or social status. I use my art to teach, preach and entertain people.

Justin is one of our Humanity Project Tanzania team members.

Where are you from?

My official name is Jastin Jaylocy Mhanje. Justin Maniaje is my nickname. I was born and raised in the Songea Ruvuma region, which is in the southern part of Tanzania. From primary school to high school, I was living and studying in Songea. In 2014, after completing my primary school, secondary school and high school, I joined the University of Dar es Salaam, where I studied Education and specialized in Geography and Literature. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree in 2017. I am a teacher by profession, and am currently living in Dar es Salaam. But Songea is the place where I belong.

What are some of your inspirations?

I really like philosophy and psychology, and as you know I am a teacher by profession. I’m really inspired by the teachings and sayings of Mother Maria Theresa, Jarome Bruner, Plato and Aristotle. Their sayings give me hope, courage and strength… and help me to teach other people. Also, my grandmother and grandfather motivate me so much. I really need to help them, because they are the ones who raised me. Lastly let me say, “You can’t help everyone, but everyone can help some.”

Justin doing what he does best… teaching the kids.

What are you working on now?

Currently, I am working on the video of my song, “Sio Kama Napenda.” Here in Tanzania, producing music (audio and video) is very expensive, especially in comparison to the kinds of jobs that I do. So the cost of producing video and audio is paid in installments. I don’t yet have management, but I do expect my video will be out soon.

Apart from music, I opened a small organization called Maniaje Academics, and I am the CEO. Maniaje Academics deals with the writing of academic books for secondary schools and primary schools in Tanzania. The published books are then sold to the students whose parents can afford to buy them. And those students whose parents cannot afford to buy the books, we give them for free. Maniaje Academics also deals with organizing seminars and workshops about adolescence (puberty), and the implications, especially with female students. We also teach how to study and pass examinations, as well as HIV/AIDS education.

Justin, the Gospeller

Amazing, Justin! Where can we see more?

I have plans to release my first album (audio and video) before the end of this year, and to start my YouTube channel and my blog. I also have plans to open my bookshop and a printing company soon.

You can follow my music and my teachings on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/justin.nuruh.1

And on Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/justin_chozen/

Justin with one of his books.

Asante sana, Justin! And thank you, Outer Loopers, for reading. Are you an artist? Would you like to be featured here? Or do you know someone amazing we should feature?

Connect with us on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter. Also sign up for our Newsletter for performance opportunities and other ways to get involved.

Keep an eye out for updates on our partner projects in Tanzania, as well as exciting new works in progress in the States!

--

--

The Outer Loop Blog

We are The Outer Loop Theater Experience. We’re making art that matters. Art that balances the disparity between all humans. There is no humanity without unity.