The Talent Behind The Camera, Kaitlyn Karssen

The PonyApp
5 min readOct 9, 2019

--

PonyPeople: October 9th, 2019

If a Kaitlyn Karssen photo has not come across your newsfeed or discover feed on Instagram, I would be shocked! Only a few years into the photography business, Kaitlyn has rapidly become one of the best in the equestrian industry. Here at PonyApp HQ, we have always admired her work, but what we really love is that she is an avid PonyApp user! This week, she sat down to tell us what inspires her passion and how she uses PonyApp to keep her pony life organized while she’s busy being a #bosslady!

© Kirstie Marie Photography

How long have you been a photographer?

I’ve been a photographer for 3 years.

What inspired you to get into photography?

My love of horses and an amazing photography/photoshop professor at the University of Kentucky, he made me believe I could make a living being an artist which I always wanted.

Was it scary to go off on your own to start your own business?

Extremely. It still is every single day!

What has been the best piece of advice you’ve received about your entrepreneurial venture?

Believe in what you’re doing or no one else will and take every opportunity that comes your way even when it requires a leap of faith.

© Kaitlyn Karssen

What has been your favorite part about taking photos of horses?

They’re the most incredible creatures. It never gets old trying to capture their athleticism and beauty.

Where do you see your business in 10 years?

I currently feel I’m at a crossroads of going bigger and taking on more clients and employees or staying boutique style with limited clients. I’m also trying to expand my schedule and figure out which shows I want to attend to photograph. In 10 years I hope I still have the same return clients that I adore and I hope my horse collection of my own keeps growing!

What does your typical schedule look like throughout the year?

I currently base in Wellington, FL and Lexington, KY and work at all the shows in those locations. I also do the Spruce Meadows summer circuit and go to North Salem a few times a year. I do a handful of GCT shows and would like to add some stops at the North East shows!

© Shawn McMillen

So you travel a lot! Awesome for business but definitely a lot to manage with owning your horse, Elona B! How do you do it all?

Finding balance and having amazing help!! I build my work schedule around being able to ride as much as I can. I do a lot of my horses care on my own and all the grooming and riding, I genuinely love being around the horses and need that time myself. When I’m traveling for work I’m very fortunate to have my good friend KC Van Aarem step in to ride and look after Elona B and I can trust it’s being done how I would or better!

How do you use PonyApp to keep you organized with your crazy schedule?

I love PonyApp because as I mentioned I do a lot of care on my own. I use it to note every time the vet and farrier are out, every time she gets a medication, every time she is jumped and shown, etc. I know exactly when everything was done last down to the minute and I feel very organized. If I need to check on something it’s all right on my phone.

What is your favorite feature on PonyApp?

I love the new feature of adding show videos to those posts so when I need to go back and check something out it's all right there and organized. I also think “giving apples” as the way of “liking” posts is literally genius.

Who are your favorite people to follow on PonyApp?

Brian Moggre and Caitlin Creel. I take both of their photos from time to time so I’m biased but they both have the best ponies. I mean, Liberty Son, anyone?

© Kaitlyn Karssen

Follow Kaitlyn & Elona B on PonyApp!

Don’t Miss…

  • The next stop on the Marocco Tour, CSIO4*-W Rabat! Don’t miss the action at this amazing show!
  • Closer to home… CSI3* Tryon where everyone is gearing up for the big CSI5* next week! There are sure to be lots of cute ponies in North Carlina!!

--

--

The PonyApp

The fastest-growing horse network, PonyApp is a platform built to better connect the global equestrian community to horses and to each other! www.theponyapp.com