My Green Bible Study

Sometimes grandpa knows best

Popularium
5 min readOct 28, 2017
Illustration by Michele Svengsouk

By Steve Ausburne

My father-in-law was wearing the grin of a 5th grade boy who’s stumbled across boobs in a National Geographic.

We were in his Prius, headed to get medical marijuana cards. And it had been his idea.

I remember the last time I smoked. My high school buddies had rolled up a fattie, and the four of us made a tight circle in the windy parking lot. When the joint came to me, though, I passed. My excuse? I didn’t want to be too high for bible study.

I had met Maggie at bible study. She was warm and pretty and her smile melted me like a Mars bar in the sun. I was determined to be the man she’d eventually marry. I ditched my ratty sneakers and cut my hair. In class, I showered her with dorky attention. At home I spun fantasies of our life together.

Then one day in my Pontiac Phoenix she kissed me. We made out in a breathless, hungry way. I barely knew what I was doing, but I knew I didn’t want it to end. She was the most magical person who had ever talked to me, and now she was kissing me. The moment abruptly ended when her elbow honked the horn. We retreated to our seats, and Maggie straightened her hair while I cleaned my glasses.

--

--

Popularium

We realized that the internet is full of brilliant storytellers. All we had to do was give them a voice and their stories came to life.