The TRUST That Tied Them Together

Priyanka R V
3 min readMar 30, 2024

--

One full moon day . . .

That full moon . . . , its shimmering reflection akin to a lustrous pearl in the tranquil lake . . . A gentle breeze, akin to a playful hugs . . . , as I watched over my slumbering little brother, his innocent countenance . . . , hahaha . . . !!!

“Tara !!!”, my mumma walking into my room . . . , “the night’s growing late . . . it’s time for bed kanna !”, said mom, moving her hands on to my shoulders . . . which usually makes me high . . . , but this time it’s different . . . I could sense a different wax on the ball . . .

I know mumma . . . , that you are carrying an unspoken weight . . . , of the dissension you and dad had in the sundown hours . . .

“Mumma! Do you like dad???”, I asked . . . A fleeting smile graced her lips as she replied . . . , “I trust him, darling !!!”.

That statement is beyond one . . . As I was little baffled by mom’s word ‘Trust’, I asked, “Is trust holding you together, mumma ???”.

With so comforting presence in bed . . . , she settled beside me, weaving a tale of her destiny . . .

She recounted her first encounter with my dad . . . , “At the tender age of twenty. . . , I stood in the shadow of uncertainty, where amidst a cacophony of voices and opinions . . . , I could hardly see pappa. Yet, within the chaos . . . , a sense of calm enveloped me, as fate decreed my union with pappa within a week . . . Leaving behind the familiar comforts of my world, I embarked upon a journey into the unknown . . . , with your dad’s assured words, “I’m never leaving your hand !” , holding me by trust.”

“Don’t fret, kanna . . . Everything will be fine,” my mother reassured me, her touch a soothing balm against my worries . . . With a gentle pat, she lulled me into slumber, her words echoing in my mind . . .

In the embrace of sleep, my father’s voice called out . . . , dispelling the shadows of doubt that lingered . . . I slept . . .

With newfound clarity . . . , I embraced the essence of trust . . . , realizing its profound significance in shaping relationships and forging connections . . .

So now . . . I’m twentyOne . . . Standing at the window . . . , staring at the moon . . . a full moon and it’s reflection . . . so beautiful as always . Now I got to know what ‘TRUST’ mean . . .

And I’m awaiting for my ‘Trusted One’ and who ‘Trust’ me . . .

“Tara !!!”

Mamma is calling . . . Ta-Ta!!!

Get back to you with Fire-flies . . . !!!

--

--