I Never Walk Alone (Peace, Amazulu)

Rakaa (Iriscience)
4 min readMay 18, 2016

--

May 17, 2016

Peace,

I have been a member of the Universal Zulu Nation since I was invited to join the L.A. Bomb Squad chapter of Rock Steady Crew (later expanded to become the West Coast Rock Steady Crew) as youngster in 1992. Rock Steady Crew was an official chapter of UZN at that time, so all Rock Steady members had to become Zulus — no exceptions. This is no longer the case because it is no longer considered a Zulu chapter, but I was among the large group of members that maintained the family bond with both sides. The impact of the cultural exchange, community spirit, social justice, and obvious positive contributions to Hip Hop culture (and other creative circles) that Zulus from around the world are responsible for should be celebrated at the highest levels. With that said, I find it almost surreal to say that I must now officially and respectfully step down as a member of the Universal Zulu Nation organization.

I am at peace with my overall decision, but there is still weight. I recognize the weight on those in the global community that are embarrassed and even afraid because of the way this issue reflects on them. Threats have been made in places where the name of the organization and associated symbols were already looked upon with suspicion and even hate. I recognize the weight on the worldwide Hip Hop community that will soon be made an even bigger pawn in this evil game — despite the fact that UZN does not actually consider itself to be an official Hip Hop organization (it is a community-based organization that actively supports Hip Hop as well as many other sub-cultures, movements, and causes). I recognize the weight on specific chapters and individuals that have given their time, energy, money, blood, sweat, and tears to an organization that appears to have been controlled by spiritually, morally, and financially corrupt leadership at the very top. I recognize the weight on those that that suddenly find themselves desperately searching for something more tangible and measurable than aesthetic iconography, mosaic philosophy, colorful language, and conspiracy theories to justify their personal sacrifice and investment. I recognize the weight on the innocent massive that still truly consider UZN to be their home, but are torn between throwing water or gasoline on these particular flames. I recognize the weight on those being forced to differentiate between family, friend, crew, and business while on trial in the court of public opinion. I recognize the weight of those that are considering staying because of their own pure experience of camaraderie, networking, community spirit, support, creativity, education, and fun. I recognize the weight on individuals that may be ashamed to speak up on their own experience because they don’t feel that they can handle the pressure of what coming to grips with it and speaking out on it may mean. I am at peace with my decision, but the process has been heart-wrenching. I recognize and feel the weight.

This isn’t about Hip Hop. This isn’t about race or sexual orientation. This is about children. This is about abuse, bullying, shame, and fear. This is about tolerance or acceptance based in personal agenda. This is about greed, ego, privilege, and power. I have heard many ask, “Why now?” To them, I simply say “Why?” Does it really matter when? If someone has a financial stake in the general revelation or timing of the revelation of the actual truth, does that make the truth that is revealed any less valid? It is in the midst of this storm of confusion, anger, disgust, lies, embarrassment, guilt, and smoke and mirrors that I respectfully stand to draw my line. I do this because I have decided that helping the people and saving the neighborhood are more important than protecting one house that has apparently caught fire due to negligence and reprehensible secret activity going on inside. People that I love and respect are asking me about rebuilding, but I question what we would be building back up. I am open to reassessing, revising, rebranding, and refocusing on a real plan to do real work; but to rebuild is to bring something back to what it was, and I don’t stand with what it turned out to be. This isn’t abandoning ship because of accusations and bad press. I have had other unrelated issues with the organization in the past. This is about what I honestly believe in my heart to be the right thing to do as a man and father. This is about the shocking details of what appears to be a growing nightmare; the way the information has been handled, represented, and acted upon; and whether or not I trust an organization to the degree that I can stand as a member. I do not, so I cannot.

I do, however, stand in complete solidarity with all true Amazulu worldwide. I wish healing, strength, support, guidance, and endurance to all on this journey. I have never just been a celebrity Zulu, and I don’t need to be a part of a trademarked company or organization to say that we are still family. Greater things ahead.

Peace, Love, and Light.

Rakaa (Iriscience)

Dilated Peoples / Los Angeles, CA

--

--