Daylight

A Poem Journey

Michael Barley
1 min readMar 1, 2020
Photo by NeONBRAND on Unsplash

I saw the serpent shape

draped along the ridge

richly rounded and crushingly muscled

I heard the feathers gyre the cirrus

each hollow-boned bend and flex

tilting quiet wings and sharp head

I smelt the cracks of desiccated earth-ash

lying deadened under the fractal

salt land pan

I touch my pasted hair

dribbling minuets of leeched sweat

down my neck, onto my eye-bone

I feel the sting of our too close

star emit day-white prickly

needles on my

weather printed face

I taste the dust shaken loose,

scattered from the scale-mail

of the horizon snake

quarter watching me through

a sleepy eye slit

I sense clouded effigies following,

scarecrow stiff, dark and

growing behind my shoulders

they loom up, my

deranged apparitions

unattached to the ground;

they accompany me

--

--

Michael Barley

Writer from Australia: novels stories poems • humour • history • music • passionate about writing • noticer • disseminator • did I mention music?