Loneliness I Remember

A Poem

Michael Barley
1 min readJun 12, 2019
Andreas Levers

Loneliness is so familiar so complete

Kneeling on the bed I hold my knuckles

To my thin skinned face

Against the nubby bumpy bones and

Breathe into my hands

Over this place

An unending shape shushes out

A great grey blanket

Across the town village city landscape

A great never-hearted space of time

With buildings roads trees parks and houses

Like yesterday I hold my forearms to me

Close my eyes and press my knuckles

To the metal door

See up close the condensation of droplets

Drifting down the icy inside

I lean against it

The threadbare me inside

A hundred or thousand or myriad phantoms without

With extra pressure

The door inches open

I take a big shallow breath ready for

Daylight to smack my eyelids and

Not warm my face or arms one glint

As yesterday

I climb down onto the earth concrete

Drop my arms to my scallop waist holds

Squint out so bright so cold so

See through

And wander

At night I climb back up

Curl in on my place

My head lies on merely warm hands

A flat prayer

Between my pillow and face

Clench my eyes

Seize up my feelings

Loneliness is the cruellest famine of all

--

--

Michael Barley

Writer from Australia: novels stories poems • humour • history • music • passionate about writing • noticer • disseminator • did I mention music?