The Boy and the Bus

A Poem Story

Michael Barley
3 min readMar 16, 2020
David Clarke – Unsplash.com

In the empty suburban evening

about eleven by my reckoning

I wait for an 88 Bus, just

down from the strip mall –

orange sodium street lamps arch

away in an curve down the hill

dragging their own misty halos

no warm bodies edge between

the box block shops straddling

the sealed concrete skin of the world.

A grandstand of jarring cog-grinding

smashes its way into my brittle hush

– bus driver wrestles his gear lever,

but the teeth won’t mesh…

he gives up, rolls alongside,

jerks in a hiss of hydraulics to a halt

driver looks at me – I he, and at his

illuminated tomb on rubber wheels

all encased in orange aluminium.

No other souls haunt the ride –

doors crash inward, a rubber guillotine:

driver impatiently checks me perched on the curb

I slide cold coins into his heart-pained hand, I

--

--

Michael Barley

Writer from Australia: novels stories poems • humour • history • music • passionate about writing • noticer • disseminator • did I mention music?