How I Am Growing $0 to $80,000 and How You Can Too

A side hustle that anyone can do

The Retired Millennial
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

Photo: Alexander Mils/Pexels

Money is laying all around us, and with some time and effort, you can turn $0 into a surprising amount of money. On August 7th, I started a 0–1k challenge where my goal was to turn $0 to $1,000.

To take it one step further, I then opened a Roth IRA account, and assuming I do not add anything, my $1,050 will grow to over $80,000 in 40 years assuming an 11.5% return.

I accomplished my 0–1k challenge goal in less than two months and netted $1,050 in 51 days. This is an article about how I did that.

Flipping

I accomplished this goal by flipping thrift items. What is flipping? Flipping is when you buy something for $X and sell it for $X + $Y, and make a profit.

There is a similar concept called retail arbitrage. The main difference is that with retail arbitrage, the items that you flip are new. I mainly flipped thrift items, though some sold items were new.

The Journey in Numbers

Total percentages

--

--