Warnings

A poem

Ro Lamb
1 min readApr 13, 2020
photo by Arto Marttinen via Unsplash

amid squeaks of battery-less

smoke detectors, as wind and rain

battered walls of my house,

i sat

in the dark,

lit only by the television.

i texted my friends when i heard of a tornado

at the airport. thunderstorm warnings

were redundant as i listened to the world’s rage.

i sleep naked. but tonight

i was fully clothed for fear. prepared to dash

through the house gathering my children

like lost artifacts. waiting for disaster

in vain. everything settles.

i relax. unclothe. and breathe.

the worst is past. and everything is out of wack.

Thank you for reading. I am so glad you are here!

If you loved this and would like to support my writing, I would love to have you join me at patreon.com/rolamb. I share poetry, short stories, and any other writing projects I may be working on!

Thanks again! Be well!! I LOVE YOU!

--

--

Ro Lamb

Storyteller | Creative | I inspire connection with the Present.