An Interview with Mayank Shrivastava | #KnowYourCandi

TSA-Admin
The Scholars’ Avenue
5 min readApr 6, 2017

TSA: What motivates you to run for this position?

Mayank: There is no better way to work for the students & the institute. I am contesting to pay back to the institute for whatever I have gained from it since the very first day.

TSA: Which issues in KGP are closest to you?

Mayank: There are various issues in the campus. I’ll be looking to cater to the individual needs of the students. The administration has done a good job thus far and almost all of the issues have been attended by the previous VPs’ either in their proposals or their tenure. But there is always a scope for improvement and I shall work towards that.

TSA: What makes you, in your assessment a good VP candidate? How would you rate yourself on these parameters?

Mayank: The right combination of zeal, confidence & work experience is, in my opinion, the perfect recipe for a good VP candidate. I feel I am proficient enough on these parameters, else I would not have offered my candidature.

TSA: What is one thing that you most like about KGP, and one thing you hate?

Mayank: The right combination of zeal, confidence & work experience is, in my opinion, the perfect recipe for a good VP candidate. I feel I am proficient enough on these parameters, else I would not have offered my candidature. I love the society culture in KGP, everyone can find a group of individuals to make him rise. He can nurture and develop his talents in these groups and find the right opportunity and stage.

I am very grateful to E-Cell & TAdS for whatever I am today.

There nothing which I specifically hate in Kgp.

TSA: How’s your election experience been?

Mayank: I have learned a lot in this process and received very nice suggestions to improve upon. I have had a very nice experience overall.

TSA: What would you like to change about the election process?

Mayank: The election process should be made accessible to those who really want to work. There are several obstacles in the process. The path should be cleared for those who want to work so that they can focus solely on that.

TSA: Over the years there have been several VP’s elected & not all have been equally efficient. Several complain that the Administration isn’t much cooperative. How your approach shall be different to fight for the student rights against the administration?

Mayank: The best way to resolve the problem is to talk to the administration before keeping up your proposals. In my case, the administration has been quite supportive. Also, my ground work and research have been quite extensive, which shall be quite beneficial.

VP is a representative of the student community. My focus will be on representing the cause of the students and I will try my best to bridge the gap between the students and the administrative body. If there is a conflict between the students and the administration, I will take the side of the students.

TSA: What are your opinions about the initiatives taken & the development in the campus by Shovan Panigrahi?

Mayank: Mr. Shovan Panigrahi has been doing a good job. His proposals such as the career conclave and the undergraduate research drive have gained a good momentum.

TSA: In your blog “The Daily Philosopher” you seem to be quite distressed by the despotic behavior of your seniors. How do you plan to resolve this issue if you are elected as the VP?

Mayank: The blog was in my 1st semester. I suppose the interaction with the seniors is very important. It was a good experience. I learned a lot from that and now I am seeing it in a new light. I now feel that their reprimand was very important for my self-development.

TSA: Also you seemed very upset in your blog regarding the pressure due to several activities.How do you advise others to manage stress?

Mayank: It was my first year back then and I was learning how to manage everything smoothly. Pressure should be taken as a learning experience, we should not run from it. Societies taught me a lot about managing work amidst pressure.

TSA: Recently there were some unfortunate events in the Kgp where we lost some of our fellow brothers. What would be your take if elected as the VP to curb such incidents?

A: The counselling center is doing it’s best, but there is always a scope for improvement.

I also have a proposal regarding this which I shall be presenting at the SOP.

TSA: What is your opinion on the Hall Days? These days it seems more of an election campaign strategy.

Mayank: There can be two perspectives to this question.One from those standing in the elections & other for those who want to solely celebrate the Hall Day.

From my perspective it has been a great experience, getting suggestions and advice. I learned a lot from these hall days.

From the other view, there are about 20 contenders. The hall day is for four hours but these candidates just ask for 5 minutes. It would be very helpful if they give their opinion because these candidates will only go forward to improve the campus and take steps from the student side.

The List of Credentials (by the Election Commision)

Entrepreneurship Cell, IIT Kharagpur

  1. Senior Manager (Former)

Part of the executive council of 10 Senior Managers in charge of planning yearlong activities

Overall coordinator of PAN India Entrepreneurship Awareness Drive held in 23 cities; Led a team of 38 Associate Members, 220 Campus Ambassadors

Responsible for scheduling guest lectures, workshops and events around the year including GES 2017

Responsible for bringing participation for GES 2017 over 1200

2. Associate Manager

Worked under the portfolio: Events.

Managed accommodation of 900 participants during the summit

3. Associate Member

Coordinator of EAD Lucknow for the PAN India Awareness Drive; Looking after Events,Logistics, Sponsorship, Media, Public Relations and Event Management. Conducted the event with participation over 1000.

Fixed sponsorship of INR 30,000 and media associations, including i-Next, Wave Cinemas, Gyan Vani, ETV Uttar Pradesh

Technology Adventure Society

Governor(2016–17), Member(2015–16), Associate Member(2014–15)

Managed the recreational events and activities

Organized treks for the students in summer and winter vacation

Coordinated the conduction of in campus events and out campus activities

Lal Bahadur Shastri Hall of Residence

Part of Case Study Team

Part of Ad Design Team

Part of Eastern Groups Team

Part of Product Design Team

INTERNSHIPS

Plancess Edusolutions Ltd

INITIATIVES

Swachh KGP — Witnessed a participation of more than 120 students

Shastrian’s Week — Participation of more than 80 students in the Career Oriented Session

--

--