What is Skyrunning?

The Skyrunning Girl
2 min readAug 11, 2019

--

Skyrunning is the next coming of age sport and running trend.

Skyrunning is exactly how it sounds. Running up mountains, or in other words…. Skyrunning is running above the clouds or above 2,000 meters (6,600ft) of elevation.

It is running up a mountain (or hiking trail with vertical gain), listening to your body, and pushing your limits.

So, skyrunning is not putting your treadmill on the highest setting or even running up that semi steep pavement hill in the middle of town for about 10 seconds. Although, both of those are very good for building a training base and a great starting point for the sport.

I am not the most average person you could meet. I love to run up mountains for fun and run as far as I can. I like to see how far I can push myself and how high I can run.

-Naia (US Skyrunner)

I have been a trail runner most of my life. Recently, I have become a skyrunner. I have a strong passion and desire to run up mountains. What draws me to this sport is the peace of knowing I am in nature and the only things I can hear are my breath and my footsteps. I have found myself in many ways on trails, but skyrunning has helped me find myself and discover my full potential in many more ways.

Skyrunning pushes the limits of your body and lets you experience something you might have never felt before, like a comfortable pain of out of breath climbing up a mountain feeling.

Are you up for the challenge?

Can Anyone Do Skyrunning?

Yup. Anyone can do skyrunning. There are skyrunning races around the world. Legit. Skyrunning races are more referred to as VK’s… Vertical Kilometers. The really cool thing about Skyrunning is that it is hard, but races are short.

All you need are running shoes and some tall mountains. No, not like the Alps or the Rocky Mountains. Just some hiking trails that you can run or hike up.

To start skyrunning you don’t have to be able to fully run up the mountain. Take it as it comes. Don’t beat yourself up if you can’t run to the top of the mountain on your first try. A good method to practice is the running, walking, running method. You simply run, walk when needed, and run again when you can.

Congrats you are already well on your way to becoming a skyrunner.

(This is where you say that quote… “Pain is only temporary.”)

I hope you enjoyed my little intro into skyrunning. If you want to find out more about skyrunning, check out my blog Skyrunning Girl.

--

--

The Skyrunning Girl

I’m Naia. Lover of hanging out in the mountains, and going on road trips. You can find out more about me on my blog: SkyrunningGirl.com