My Safe Place, My Prison.

The smiley face empire
2 min readDec 5, 2023

--

I grew up in a box.

Sometimes it was big enough to stretch my legs, other times it was so small I couldn’t breathe.

I grew up in a box.

The box was never empty and so I was never alone. But if I have to be honest, I was always lonely.

I grew up in a box.

I began to wear glasses because I couldn’t see outside. Turns out there just weren’t any windows.

I grew up in a box.

Most times, it felt like a prison. I was serving time for my crime. The crime of being born.

I am in a box.

I think I have an unstable case of Stockholm syndrome. Why? Well on most days, I feel love for my inmates and the prison guard.

I am in a box.

These days it’s hard to control my anger. I feel like lashing out but no. I’m better than that.

I am in a box.

I have multiple voices in my head and it’s hard to keep them in check. The guard and inmates think I’m acting out.

I left the box.

I have been given the greatest gift ever; the gift of the outdoors.

I left the box.

I never knew that air could be so clean and fresh. Oh how I wish I could stay here forever.

I left the box.

The guard and inmates keep calling. They want me back in the box but all they’re doing is shouting and screaming.

I left the box.

It hasn’t been long enough but I have to go back now. The box calls for me. I guess I also miss the box.

I am in a box.

Once I get in, the stale air slaps me across the face … and so does the guard.

I grew up in a box.

I guess I shouldn’t call it a box. Maybe you’d understand me better if I called it “Home”.

--

--

The smiley face empire

Not so new but I’m new to this. Posting all the random things that come to mind. Might be short or long but hopefully they’ll be nice.