How to succeed in the digital world

Matt Brown
3 min readJan 19, 2022

--

I remember my time at NAIT as one of the best decisions for my education. Unofficially, I was one of the first students to complete my entire degree online or in the evening. At the time, I couldn’t afford to take out student loans, and when I could they weren’t enough to cover my cost of living, so I needed a full time job. It took me awhile, but I was able to find a full time accounting job while I was taking a full semester at NAIT, and learning online certainly had its challenges.

Now, what I dealt with is probably much different than your online learning experience, since mine was optional and your experience is forced. And if you’re feeling like its challenging at times, you are not alone and in fact, there is a word for this: its called Languishing. (Here’s a great article explaining some of the feelings you have: https://www.nytimes.com/2021/04/19/well/mind/covid-mental-health-languishing.html)

Here’s a couple tips on how to help deal with languishing:

  1. Have a routine and a habit

Creating a space where you can study and be in the online learning is helpful so that when you go to that place, your brain knows its for engaging with your course load. Similar to your favourite reading or gaming spot, find a way to brighten up that space with things you enjoy: a candle, coffee/tea, good lighting, a picture, or other things that make you happy. Once you have that set up, create your study habit. Everyone is different, but make reasonable goals when you are studying. The thing that worked best for me was 30 minutes of studying, followed by 5 minute reward break. It helped break down the time I spent studying into manageable goals.

2. Remind yourself of your goals

Its important to remember why you are at NAIT and what you want to accomplish your goals. Reminding yourself that you are taking these courses to get a degree, being the first person to get a post-secondary education, taking the courses to enter the CPA program, or simply wanting to be more knowledgeable in your field, they’re all helpful for motivation to keep you on track when you are lacking motivation to study.

3. Make time for hobbies/interests

While it can be easy to stay cooped up in your house all day, try to break yourself away from the studying and make time for the things that you enjoy. Whatever your hobbies, from reading or gaming to running or yoga, take specific time to focus completely on things that you really enjoy. Having a way to decompress and give your brain something to focus on that is for your benefit is essential to your long term happiness!

Above all, be patient with yourself. It takes time to deal with this new face of adversity, especially when you can’t see it. While you cant take every night off, if you need a break, listen to your brain and take the extra time to have a longer than normal sleep to let your brain rest. It might not seem like a huge difference, but I always had my best studying days after taking a night off and using it to get more sleep.

Ill leave you with one final thought. It will get easier with each semester. While it might feel difficult or exhausting to join lots of team meetings, make sure you take the time to still enjoy what you love and to take lots of breaks. I wish you all the best for the Winter Semester!

Matt

--

--

Matt Brown

Finance professional by day, aspiring blockchain analyst. Twitter: @thespinmatt LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/matt-brown-cpa-66ba8348/