The sweet life of a traveller: a story of a failed travel blog

How I dreamed of a travelling life and got stuck in a millennial life

The sweet life of a traveller
3 min readMar 20, 2019
Photo by Nils Nedel on Unsplash

I’ve been a travel blogger for a while, at least I tried. It lasted just five months and then, few mistakes later, the enthusiasm vanished.

This is the story of The Sweet Life of a Traveller, a failed travel blog

Back to the beginning I did everything I learned during my digital communication classes at uni: find a niche, get on the right channels and start writing. I swear I did them all. The wanderlusters were my people, I opened a free blog on Wordpress, I found the perfect name (The sweet life of a traveller, indeed) and I started posting on Facebook (Instagram too, but that’s another story). I had quite enough readers to keep writing and posting.

Now you’re waiting for a but, the thing that made me stop.

Well I guess there’s no point in writing a travel blog when you don’t actually travel. Not my choice.

Hello, my name is Giorgia, I’m 24 (nearly 25) years old and this makes me a Millennial. In details: I’m an Italian millennial.

This means a lot: not enough money, not enough time, not enough (full stop). I’m not gonna tell you what it means to be young in a country like Italy nowadays, just remember we have an high unemployement rate, a seriously questionable government and many other problems.

Now briefly, this is my story: I graduated from uni too quickly. I’m one of the lucky young Italian who found a job I like right after, but no experience leads to a low salary, just enough to live without relying on my parents anymore, but not enough to save a consistent amount of money.

I’m not going to bother you with my personal story or the poor Italian economic situation.

Summarizing, no time, no money, no travels.

The sweet life of a millennial I might say. But if you’re in your mid-twenties, or already regretting your early thirties, you know millennials life is not so sweet. We struggle to reach our personal goals. We struggle, but we have learned to struggle with a smile on our face. I’m not saying we’re some kind of homogeneous group of people, but we all share this melancholic attitude of resilience every time we fail on something. We’re getting used to failure, being broke and few other unpleasant situations, but our attitude is capable of lowering our expectations without letting us down. Struggling, but with an hidden spark of hope.

A millennial never stops dreaming

As a millennial, I learned to adjust to all kind of situation and I actually never stopped dreaming on my own travel blog. Travelling low cost became my special talent, Wanderlust my belief and backpacking my way of living.

This is the story of The Sweet Life of a Traveller, a reborn travel blog

Travelling or not, this is going to be my place to share details of my life, details of my trips and details of my thoughts. Feel free to follow my stories, here or on Instagram (@wanderer_giorgia).

P.S. my mothertongue is Italian, any language mistake must be forgiven.

--

--

The sweet life of a traveller

The travel blog behind Giorgia — 25yo world citizen, ID says from Italy