Stop wasting your time watching Finance Influencers (Youtube, Reddit, Instagram)

The Teen Investor
6 min readAug 20, 2020

Hi All. It’s the teenage investor again. If you are new to my Medium account and are interested in a quick intro into who I am, I ask that you take the time to quickly read my first ever Medium post where I wrote about my introduction to investing.

With my intro out of the way, I wanted today write about a topic that as of late has really bugged me: Finance Influencers. I am talking about the likes of Youtube personalities: Graham Stephan, Financial Education, Andre Jikh, and the list goes on and on. The so-called millionaires in their mid-twenties to early, who were able to parlay a couple grand into millions of dollars.

Being the generation Z individual that I am, I will admit that I originally attempted to gain financial literacy through these creators and respective social media platforms: Youtube, Reddit, Instagram, etc. These platforms may still be deemed to be in their infancy, yet they in many cases have become the source of younger generations’ news media, entertainment, and education. So, why not teach us about investing? Wrong. Nada. Bad idea.

Having sadly spent more time than I care to admit surfing the world of social media and finance, here are three red flags which should deter any real investor and make you think twice about following these creators’ advice.

Recent Andrei Jikh videos

--

--

The Teen Investor

An 18 year-old kid learning to invest and hoping to educate and motivate others.