The Real Reason The Law Of Attraction Isn’t Working For You

Giorgia G
7 min readJan 1, 2024

--

Let me guess… You’re saying your positive affirmations every morning, have your vision board hanging on top of your desk, and are visualising yourself making 6-figures… and yet the Law of Attraction isn’t working for you?

I remember when I was trying to manifest my first three coaching clients. I was doing all of the above (and more)… and crickets. Weeks went by without me booking any discovery calls at all.

I felt SO frustrated! I tried to keep a positive mind but, with every passing day, I was losing more and more trust in myself and in my ability to make my dreams come true. Have you ever experienced that?

It took me a long time to realise that lack of trust was sabotaging all my efforts. And it’s not the only reason why the Law of Attraction isn’t working for you.

WHAT IS THE LAW OF ATTRACTION?

The Law of Attraction states that you’ll attract into your life whatever you focus on.

Like attracts like. If you focus on what you desire, you’re going to attract opportunities, connections, and resources to make it happen. The opposite is also true. When you focus on what you don’t want, you end up getting a lot more of that. Let me give you an example.

When I first started my coaching business, I struggled to attract clients. I remember telling my coach (in every single session we had!) that I didn’t have any leads and no way to generate them. I literally had no one to talk to!

She wasn’t buying it. “There are 8 billion people in the world, Giorgia,” she’d tell me. “Your clients are out there waiting for you.” And then, she’d give me tips on how to find them. Why don’t you host a webinar, go live every day on IG, attend networking events…

I did… and still crickets. Why?

I was focusing on the LACK of leads and clients. Every time I’d go to an event or do a live, my brain was thinking: “I’m sure none of these people is interested in working with me. They don’t have the time, or the money, or their business isn’t at the right stage to invest in a coach…”

I was basically disqualifying every person I was talking to!

Do you see how this works? You can have all the right strategies, but if deep down, you don’t believe something is possible for you, if you’re focusing on the lack of clients and wondering why people would work with you, you’re not going to get the results you want.

My coach noticed that (that’s the power of working with a coach, by the way. They can point out things you don’t see yet). So, she challenged me to focus on abundance in EVERY area of my life. Together, we did several things:

  • Gratitude practice: Every morning, I’d write down 3 things I was grateful for. At night, I’d write 3 good things that happened that day.
  • Focus on service: When you’re focusing on getting clients, it’s all about you. Instead, I focused on serving the person in front of me, regardless of whether she’d sign up to work with me.
  • Embodiment: I got clear on what would make me feel more abundant, like going out with friends and moving into a bigger flat (things that I was postponing until the day when I finally could do that), and made that happen now.

Once my focus shifted, my energy shifted. I felt happier, grateful, excited about life and business again. And people noticed. Out of the blue, I booked my highest-ticket client up until that point!

HOW DOES THE LAW OF ATTRACTION WORK?

A common misconception is that the universe will deliver whatever you think of. If you keep thinking about reaching 6-figures, then it’ll magically happen without you having to do anything.

There’s a bit more to it than that…

The Universe is always responding to your energy and delivering people, experiences, and outcomes that match your vibrational energy — that’s the Law of Attraction.

But that’s not the only law at play here. The Law of Cause and Effect states that every single outcome and effect has a cause — things don’t happen magically (even though, when you’re living in a state of flow, it often seems like they are).

Here’s why this matters: you could be attracting a great opportunity, but if you don’t take action on it, you’re not going to see results. It’s as simple as that.

WHY THE LAW OF ATTRACTION IS NOT WORKING FOR YOU

The laws of the universe always work. For everyone. All the time. So, if the Law Of Attraction isn’t working for you, there are two key reasons:

1. YOU’RE FOCUSING ON WHAT YOU DON’T WANT

Let’s say you desire to reach 6-figures and you keep thinking: “I will make 6-figures this year.” What’s the energy behind it?

If, deep down, you don’t think it’s possible for you, you’re afraid it won’t happen, or worry about not being able to handle a 6-figures business when you have it, this negative energy is going to sabotage all your efforts.

Consciously, you may direct your thoughts towards 6-figures. But subconsciously, all your fears and insecurities are focusing on NOT being good enough for it, the negative consequences of reaching that goal, not deserving it… In other words, you’re focusing on what you don’t want.

For you to reach 6-figures, you don’t just have to think you can get there. Your feelings must be aligned with your goal, as well.

Are your feelings around reaching 6-figures positive? Are you excited about getting there? If some fear is there, is the excitement far greater? Are you able to immediately ditch doubting thoughts and redirect all your positive thoughts and energy on the outcome you want?

2. YOU’RE NOT TAKING ACTION

So you’re thinking positive thoughts and sending out positive energy into the Universe and the Law of Attraction is still NOT working for you?

Being a vibrational match to what you desire isn’t enough. You also need to embody the person who already has what you desire and take the actions she would take to get it — only then it’ll come into your life.

The truth is, you can listen to positive affirmations every morning, surround yourself with positive people, and hang your vision board on the wall BUT… If that’s all you do, your goals are NOT going to manifest.

One of mentors always says, the easiest way to manifest something is to buy it. You can manifest that new dress, but likely when shopping at a thrift store or on discount at your fave retailer. If you don’t buy it, it’s not going to magically end up in your closet.

The same is true for business. If you want 6-figures, the law of attraction will help you manifest the OPPORTUNITY to reach 6-figures.

  • You may find out about a conference where you could meet potential business partners, people who will promote you and refer you to their audience. But if you don’t buy the ticket because it’s too expensive and you don’t feel you can take 2 days off your business, you’re not going to make those connections.
  • Someone may tell you how they used YouTube to double their revenue. But if you’re scared of jumping on video, you’re not gonna start your channel.
  • You may come across a coach you know can help you to reach 6-figures. But if you’re not willing to invest the money in it because your partner doesn’t approve, you’ll stay at your current business level.
  • You may receive an invitation to speak at a popular summit, but if you’re afraid of public speaking or don’t feel good enough, you’re going to turn it down.

Do you see how the law of attraction works? You’re always manifesting opportunities to reach your goals, but you don’t see them because they don’t look like opportunities to you. They look like challenges that trigger your fears and insecurities.

Forget what the charlatans tell you. The Law Of Attraction isn’t magic. You’re not gonna wake up one day and have the life and business you’ve always desired.

Instead, you get to use the Law Of Attraction to attract people and opportunities to help you reach your goals and then take action on them, so you can actually have the life and business you’ve always desired.

When you start behaving like the person who has already reached your goal, success is inevitable.

WRAPPING IT UP

It’s not enough to think positively to attract what you desire into your life and business. If the Law of Attraction isn’t working yet, there are two missing pieces: you need to align your emotions with your goals and take the bold action that’s going to help you reach them. Only then you’ll start smashing your goals and manifest everything you desire in your life and business.

Want the fast track to success? Download your FREE Success Accelerator guide for a proven system that’ll help you achieve your next goal in 90 days without the hustle: https://thetreasureswithin.net/success-accelerator

--

--

Giorgia G

I help entrepreneurs break through self-sabotage and reach their next big goal in 90 days without hustling. https://thetreasureswithin.net