The world’s greatest outrigger canoe, a gruelling 128km paddling race in Tahiti tells you about the people who love it.

True Blueys
5 min readNov 9, 2017

--

Manutea Millon is a team member of the famous Shell Va’a club in Tahiti. They came second for the toughest race of the year. A 128km monster set over 3 days, The Hawaiki Nui

Can you tell me a few things about yourself

My Name is Manutea Millon, I’m 24, I was Born in New Zealand but I grew up in Tahiti. My height : 1,85m / my weight : 74kg

I’m paddler from Shell Va’a and my seat Position is 5

It’s been now 24 years that I live in Tahiti (but still going back to New Zealand every year) in a small city called “Mataiea”.

Stage 3 — Bora Bora

Tell me about the Hawaii Nui?

Hawaiki Nui is a special race for us because it’s part of our culture..our ancestors travelled from an island to an other by Va’a..and here it’s our National sport (our number one).

Before the start on day 3 — Bora Bora

How was your teams preparation been?

Our training with the Team starts in February and it ends in November after the Hawaiki Nui (the biggest race).

For the Hawaiki nui we have special trainings one and a half months before the race, with long distance training 1–2 hours per day in the week, 45 minutes cardio (jogging) 2 times a week

1 hour Gym 2 times a week. And on Saturday we have 3–5 hours training (V6-V1).

Who are your biggest rivals in the race?

For this Race we Fear every Team..especially EDT, OPT, Air Tahiti, Team Tupuai, Paddling connection, Hinaraurea, Toa Amok, etc…there’s a lot of teams who can win the Hawaiki Nui

How was the race & how did the team perform?

The races were really hard..the first leg we took the wrong line..and our captain get hurt during the race so we had to finish with only 5 paddlers. We arrived 4th. The second leg (day) we finished 3rd. On the 3 leg our coach decided to change the team..and for me it was a really bad choice we were in the front all the race and then at Turiroa (a point in BoraBora)

I don’t know what happened but the “nightmare” began..and we finished 10th…we finally came 4th overall..that was not our main goal.

Which team do you think exceeded everyones expectations?

For me the Team who exceeded everyones expectations was “Air Tahiti”..they Won the first leg and if their “ama” had not broken they would have win The Hawaiki Nui (they finished 3rd overall)

How was your own performance?

I gave everything I’ve got during the races..like I always do.

What is the teams next challenge?

Now the season is over..I don’t know what are the team next challenge..we have to wait and see if the paddlers are going to change their team or stay..and start the next season with the same goal : Win

Shell Va’a during the race

Can you tell me a bit more about your paddling? background

My father is a va’a Champion. He introduced me to the Va’a world and shared with me his passion and everything he knows

Manutea (right) with father (centre) and Seat 6 Shell Va’a Honui Parau

He has already won the Hawaiki Nui in 2000 Team Millenium - His name : Jean Millon

Father Jean Millon (far right)

Va’a is like a “drugs” for me.. I love it and I’m addicted

Shell Va’a at Moloka’i Hoe Hawaii — Photo 808Photo.me

Can you tell me a bit about your year paddling

This year we won the biggest races in V6 with my team but we didn’t win the Faati Moorea, and the Molokai Hoe

In V1 I just improved my level..and I’m now one of the 3 best Paddler..and I’m really proud and happy.

Manutea gets 3rd place at Te Aito 2017

What have you learned?

I’ve learned a lot since the beginning, since my start in the paddling world..it is something to win, it’s really good. But you have to learn how to come back after a loss..how to get keep your head up, stay focus and stand again.. To come back stronger.

Who inspires you in the sport of paddling?

There’re a lot of people behind me now supporting me, some that I know and other that I don’t..there’s my sponsors too..and I’m now an inspiration for some young paddlers and I have to give them a good “image” of me..and show them a good way in this sport..it means a lot to me and it motivates me to stay at the top.

I don’t you use any drugs..I don’t need it and I want the new generation to stay “clean”.

I just want to say thank you to you..and to all the people supporting me, to my family, and all my sponsors for their support.

Va’a Tehuritaua
Saltwater family
SNS Tahiti
Virus intl
Bomber Eyewear Tahiti
Huahine Rame
Tahitian Spirulina
Physio Tahiti (KP)
Viper Va’a
425 Addicted2Sup

Thanks Manutea for sharing your experience of paddling in Tahiti and taking on this huge race. Many paddlers around the world are going to love hearing about your perspective. By Nick Nelson.

Blueys are here to inspire you, to stay true to an blue way of live. We are Ocean people. We are Blueys..

“Anticipation and appropriate application” Tupuria King. Photo: Hayden Ramler

--

--

True Blueys

Stories about humans living a deep blue life. We aim to inspire and celebrate blue living.