My daily commute is my time for reflection.

Varun Khatri
3 min readDec 29, 2016

As I slowly absorbed the ambient murmur of the bus, we pulled up on my stop. Despite being -10 degrees Celsius outside, I anticipated the 12-minute walk ahead of me. My house was not too far but my thoughts seemed even closer.

Commute is hated among many — most people actually. I’m part of the small percentage that loves their commute. But, this is most likely attributed to my commute being by bus and walking. Driving seems like a pain honestly; it is generally the most useless time of one’s day, at least in my opinion.

In one of my favorite podcasts, Late Nights with Trav and Los, Travis has said that his commute is extremely important for him. His commute is a combination of many methods that don’t involve driving. In this time, he is able to edit videos, make music, and reply to comments on his coding YouTube channel, DevTips.

The largest complaints that people have about their commutes are that they are a waste of time. But, it is because people allow it to waste their time. While driving, there is nothing productive that can get done. For sure, it can save you some time but it won’t let you do anything other than focus on the road.

Commuting by bus and foot allows me to do many things that would generally be pushed aside due to my ‘busy’ schedule. During my commute, I like to listen to podcasts and talk with my friends. But, most importantly, my commute is my time for reflection and thought processing.

To show you how important my commute is to me, understand this: the idea for this post, among many of my other posts, only formulated fully in my mind because my commute allowed me to clearly communicate my thoughts with myself.

Debriefing anything in life is important (hint: my next post will debrief my year of 2016). Debriefing allows you to understand what you are doing right and what you are doing that could be improved upon. In order to debrief, you need time and a clear mind, both of which my commute provides.

I am very thankful for this time of reflection because it helps me think clearer, be more productive, and just be a better person as a whole.

P.S. This post also serves as reason to why I still haven’t gotten my G1 seven months after my birthday. I simply do not want to drive.

If you enjoyed and you want to support me, click on the green heart below and share this article on social media!

My name is Varun Khatri and my passion to write pulls me to Medium. I write for both myself and for the entertainment of my audience.

I try to write as often as I can, usually meaning once a week.

My links:

varunk.xyz

ww.twitter.com/KhatriVarun6

--

--