Anders Cahill
3 min readNov 18, 2017

Four days ago, Dr. Fred Bauer passed away. He was a remarkable man with a remarkeable mind. I am grateful that I got to see him one last time when I attended his last public lecture in April. And I’m even more grateful that I got to put a letter in his hands and say ‘thank you’. He taught me the true power of inquiry, doubt, and critical thinking, and it is safe to say he changed my life.

Godspeed, Dr. Bauer.

You will be missed

Excerpted from a letter of thanks I wrote to Dr. Bauer and gave to him on April 6, at his last public lecture.

Dear Professor Bauer,

A mentor of mine recently said to me, “do not just live like it is your last day on earth. Live like it is everyone’s last day on earth.” That really hit me. Life goes by so fast. We are always changing and growing. Knowing that any one of us could be gone tomorrow motivates me to treat people better while they are here today.

As I reflect upon the impact you made in my life, I am filled with tremendous gratitude. You are one of the most interesting, challenging, and provocative teachers I have ever had. From the first day of class with you, I knew right away that I was in for a ride. Your teaching helped spark a lifelong curiosity about the nature of perception and reality, and your commitment to rigor and logic, even when it leads you to places that most other thinkers dare not tread, is an ongoing inspiration for me.

I got a 98 on my first test in your class. I feel silly to admit it, but it is still a point of pride for me, especially because you were so surprised. I think you may have even suspected me of cheating at the time. But I didn’t. I was just so lit up by your class that I was absorbing everything I could. I still remember some of the questions on that test!

But I think the lesson that sticks with me the most from all of your teachings is the lesson on faith. I am not a member of an orthodox religion of any kind. I do not attend weekly services. When someone tells me to believe in the Bible as a sheer act of faith, you’ll find me running fast in the opposite direction.

But thanks to you, and the paths you pointed me towards, I am acutely aware of how much we take on faith in our lives. The more knowledge we seem to gain about the nature of the universe, the bigger the gap grows between what we perceive and what is ‘out there’ in the world. Even though I discount the dogma of someone who says they have all the answers in a single book, I do not discount the possibility of divinity. I cannot. But it is more than just faith in a higher power. It is faith in our life experience. Faith in our knowledge. Faith in the process of learning. Faith in anything we believe and cannot prove. We could spend a lifetime debating the minutiae of what falls inside or outside the bounds of faith. Suffice it to say that there is a whole heck of a lot we take for granted that, upon closer inspection, is not so certain.

We are all richer for your decades of inspirational and memorable teaching, Professor Bauer. I am so grateful that I studied with you and learned from you. You are one of the best teachers I have ever had.