What I wish I’d known when I moved to Los Angeles

Zach Gray
6 min readAug 8, 2023
Photo by me, 2020

“California

I don’t even know you

Taking me away from home

Old Magnolia

I’ll never get over you

Feeling’s running straight to my bones

Someday I’ll be going home

Someday I’ll be going home

With a cast iron soul” — California (Cast Iron Soul) by Jamestown Revival

I heard that song for the first time on a beautifully brisk Los Angeles day in February 2016 while waiting outside to meet a manager for dinner. What the manager didn’t know was that this trip’s mission was not just to meet with clients and colleagues; it was to decide if Los Angeles was the right place for me to live. While I had already made up my mind earlier in the trip, I like to say this serendipitous song was the sign I needed to confirm my decision to move west.

Seven years ago, after copious planning and preparation, I became a California resident. And while I felt as prepared for my move as I could have been, the first few years were a huge adjustment. Now, I can’t see my life without Southern California being a part of it, but that wasn’t the case in the beginning. While anyone moving to LA will be told that the traffic is bad, the beaches are gorgeous, and the…

--

--

Zach Gray

TV/Film agent representing actors. Chicagoan in LA. Fan of reading, Letterboxd and the Chicago Cubs. Love helping actors and all things TV/Movies!