My LinkedIn Article Got 5 Likes But 100 Subscribers. Here’s Why

Zainab Owolabi
4 min readOct 11, 2023

--

Last Monday, I published on LinkedIn for the first time in five months.

When I hit publish, I only had one subscriber — myself. The funny thing is I launched the newsletter last year but got no subscribers and only discovered I had one subscription that Monday morning.

I asked myself, ‘Would anyone read this?’ Although, I didn’t allow it to deter me. I posted anyway.

Surprisingly, I ended the week with over 103 subscribers, which is still growing🎉.

Read the article: 30 EPIC X (Formerly Twitter) Content Ideas for October.

Results of article

My Confusion

30 minutes after I posted. I opened the article because I had not checked how it looked since I posted.

I was shocked to see 22 subscribers; I thought I missaw the one subscriber I had because how did I go from 1 subscriber to 22 subscribers in 30 minutes?

For me, that’s huge. However, my post had yet to get any engagement then. I had to tell a friend to drop a like and comment😂. So, where did the 22 subscribers come from?

I was confused but went on with my daily activities. I checked back at night and saw 64 subscribers. My confusion knew no bounds.

Meanwhile, I didn’t include any CTAs for anyone to subscribe.

So, I checked the impressions of the LinkedIn post and saw it was seen 230+ times (I can’t remember the exact figure).

That explains the increase in subscribers but doesn’t explain the low engagement. I pondered it but had to return to work because I had much to do.

I was preparing for the new week when this idea came to mind.

Why Not Use GiveFlag to Find Out the Reason?

I analyzed over 50 documents with GiveFlag last week and got insights within a few minutes. If it helped me analyze financial statements like Meta’s, I should gain insights into my content performance.

The Discovery

Before I went to bed last night, I uploaded the PDF version of the article to GiveFlag and asked why I got low engagement but a high number of subscribers. Let’s see the steps.

  1. Converted the link into a PDF: GiveFlag can analyze documents and links in real time. However, if you want more insights, you should upload documents instead. Since I wished to do an in-depth analysis, I used the print feature of Google Chrome to turn the webpage into a PDF.
Convert web pages to PDF.

2. Upload the PDF to GiveFlag: I uploaded the 30 EPIC X (Formerly Twitter) Content Ideas for October for analysis. Immediately, I uploaded my article, GiveFlag started the analysis, so you don’t have to worry about that. From the analysis:

Red and Yellow Flag

Here are some areas GiveFlag told me I could do better:

GiveFlag analysis says I need to explain how the success of the suggested content ideas will be measured or evaluated, which is a great point. It also mentioned that I stated some facts without providing any proof or sources to back them up.

Green Flags

These are the parts I did great at; if I further improved them, it would bring overall success to the article. GiveFlag acknowledged how I encouraged my readers to use UGC (User Generated Content) to establish trust and credibility for the brand.

3. Discover Why

When using GiveFlag, you can ask your documents questions. So, if you need further information about a document, you should tag it to ask, which was what I did.

See the image below to learn how to tag a document on GiveFlag. After tagging the article, I asked GiveFlag to find out why that article got five likes but 100 new subscribers.

Tag your article before chatting with the AI team to ask questions

Anyway, I got a reasonable answer that made me sleep well at night😊:

In GiveFlag words:

“The article is well-structured and offers a range of ideas, from providing industry insights to encouraging user-generated content. The discrepancy between the number of likes and new subscribers could be attributed to several factors.

While only a few people engaged with the article through likes, many more found the content valuable enough to subscribe for future updates. This could be due to the quality and relevance of the content, which is tailored towards providing actionable insights for the crypto industry.

Furthermore, the article’s focus on topics like Web3 and content marketing could have attracted a niche audience interested in these subjects, leading to higher subscriptions. The author’s approach of using a mix of educational, engagement, and hard-sell posts could also have contributed to this.

In addition, it’s important to note that likes are a form of passive engagement and do not necessarily translate into active engagement or action. On the other hand, subscribing to a newsletter is a form of active engagement, indicating a higher level of interest and commitment from the user.

Therefore, the number of new subscribers could be a more accurate reflection of the article’s impact and the value it provides to its readers.”

Conclusion

Incorporate tools in your writing to be better and faster. If you want to use the GiveFlag for chats or real-time answers, sign up first because I am not sure you would be able to without being a user. Good luck on your writing journey!

--

--

Zainab Owolabi

Web 3.0 and Blockchain Technical Writer & Content creator | I make technical topics digestible and interesting