Sometimes You Just Gotta Pinch Your Nose

Theresa Winn
5 min readMar 1, 2023

And Swallow the Unpleasantness

The author, bravely preparing for what she didn’t want to do: her final round of chemo.

A coaching client asked me a brilliant question during our session a few weeks ago.

What’s the best way to approach something you really don’t want to do but you have to?

Having endured a gray divorce and breast cancer all in one memorable year, I feel qualified to answer this question.

You just do it.

I know that. She knows that. And you know that too.

Damn it, there are no shortcuts through some dark woods.

But let me back up. First, people know what needs to be done. Even when tasked with the most unpleasant of gotta-do’s, I bet you could write out a 1–2–3 list detailing the steps. You could even add in a timeline and specific targets to git ‘er done. Some could even teach on it. Fifteen Hoppin’ Ways to Eat a Frog Mastery Course-only $299! (With bonus seasoning packets, a $45 value.)

And then, uh, humanity shows up. Time to go organize paper clips. Or spend hours trying to convince myself the reasons for NOT doing said task. (Damn good reasons too!) I may spend time scheming my liberation.

I can be very clever at creating stall statics.

--

--

Theresa Winn

Certified Life Coach & Spiritual Director, Breast Cancer Survivor- I cover topics with a dash of humor: Gray Divorce, Breast Cancer, and Spirituality.