The Six Second Hug

THINK-IST
2 min readJun 30, 2015

--

I’m currently reading The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin. In the book, Rubin refers to hugging for at least six seconds to improve your mood. This is interesting. I’ve never heard about it before. And so, friends of Medium, I decided to read more about the six second hug. Here, I bring you my findings. Like a modern day…(famous scientist from the past).

An article from the UK’s Daily Mail suggests regular embraces can lower the risk of heart disease, combat stress and fatigue, boost the immune system, lower blood pressure, fight infection and ease depression.

Furthermore, as hugging time elapses, levels of the oxytocin hormone increase.

Oxytocin is also known as the “feel-good hormone”, the “happy hormone” and even the “love drug”. The hormone calms the nervous system and boosts positive emotions. The flow of oxytocin after a six second hug affects you in the following ways: it lowers blood pressure and helps with anxiety; it lowers cortisol (the stress hormone); and it increases your social connections and sense of belonging. Oxytocin is your friend.

A short, quick hug and a pat on the back doesn’t count. Research varies with regard to the total time of an effective hug, but the general consensus is more than six seconds. Anything more than that becomes a little awkward in my opinion. And creepy. So I wouldn’t advise hugging complete strangers. I’m not sure you’d like to form a proper bond with a stranger anyway. But when you do execute the six second hug, maybe tell the other person what you’re doing. That may help with the creepiness.

So go out and hug, stealth readers. Hug your faces off. And improve your mood.

If you’d like to read more articles I’ve written, go to www.think-ist.com and make me feel better about myself.

--

--

THINK-IST

Pilfered, borrowed, and altered from great thinkers and artists of our time