Emelia Smith
1 min readSep 15, 2014

Each bar I pass, a brightly lit lair for a monster within, the voice in my head screaming:

“oh, come on in, just a single drink, you know you want it”

The red lights drawing me closer, the demon inside calling louder and louder, asking me to set inside away from the cold, to drown my thoughts with the smooth, warming taste of a whiskey, or perhaps a rum.

When I walk past, it’s like the bar glares at me, it’s light fading behind me.

For now I resist, but for how long I don’t know, how long can you fight that urge, how long until you give in to try and drink your sorrows away and forget the world that you so evidently live in?

Hopefully it’ll be a while.

Emelia Smith

Founder of Unobvious Technology UG, survivor of startups, tech princess. You probably use or benefit from my code.