Hopes and dreams I had for my brother

This Kenyan Woman
1 min readNov 14, 2017

--

I assumed I would see him find himself, choose a career and grow in it

I thought I would see him grow into a man and into his own

I hoped I would get to give my approval for the woman he would finally spend his life with, unsolicited or not.

I just thought I would automatically be an aunt and revel in the wonder that my little brother was now a father

I looked forward to the day he would be thriving and my worry for him would be less

I saw in my mind the day my father would be completely and utterly proud of him, his only son, the perpetuater of the family name

My mother would now have the opportunity to spoil her grand children worse than she did him

I couldn’t wait to be adult friends despite the fact that we still had issues we needed to work out between us

I now realize how selfish these thoughts are seeing as you were robbed of your life

I’m now living in the fact that one can also be robbed of hopes and dreams….

--

--