Lessons from my brothers death

On friendship

This Kenyan Woman
1 min readAug 6, 2019

My brother’s friend may have lured him to his death. His other friends might have participated in his death. Human beings can be animals

My parents' friends and old acquaintances showed up and were there for us. It was as surprising as it was humbling. We didn’t expect it. They were there. Human beings are exceedingly kind and can surprise you.

I expected my friends to be there. Only one was. And it wasn’t even the one I expected. Maybe I am a bad friend

On life

You certainly don’t expect someone to die shortly after their twenty fifth birthday.

You especially don’t expect them to die when they are starting out in a new chapter of their life. The day you can clearly see their future will be different is the day they die.

The after life

What happens to him now? What’s it like on that side?

On human beings

Why would anyone kill anyone? Why would you kill someone like that? Why would you watch someone die and do nothing about it? Human beings can be worse than animals

On people pleasing

Be you. Be you. Be you. Be you. Be you. Be you. Be you. Be you. Be you.

Be you. Be you. Be you. Be you. Be you. Be you. Be you. Be you. Be you.

--

--