Robots for people

Thomas Höglund
3 min readNov 7, 2022

--

I’m excited to share a first glimpse of what my teams and I at Done Robotics Ab Oy have been hard at work with during the past three years. We have firmly stayed in stealth mode, but that changes now because our first product is about to be launched.

The dream of becoming an entrepreneur had been on my mind for several years before taking the first steps towards founding my startup Done Enterprises with subsidiary Done Robotics in 2019, together with my co-founder Samuel Broman. I almost regret not starting this journey a bit earlier. It has been a fantastic experience, which has taught me A LOT.

Even longer, I have imagined myself building robots capable of communicating with and helping people by making their day just a bit brighter. I started tinkering with electronics and robots when I was 13. I had no help, other than a book on how to build small hobby robots. I had to ask the kind salesmen at the local electronics store Vaasan Elektroniikkakeskus (aka starelec.fi, big thanks to them!) what tools and components I would need. I learned a great deal by trial and error, for example what happens when you use a DMM to measure the current output of a 9 V battery by shorting it…amazingly enough, it got very hot and the current kept going down while the battery was bulging.

That childhood dream of mine is about to come true. The vision statement of Done Robotics is simply “Robots for people”. That is something that has always been on my mind and it feels valuable, having the potential to improve our lives little by little, but with true potential for disruption in the long run. I’m not talking about robots invading society and taking people’s jobs. I’m talking about robots slowly becoming an integral part of how we go about our daily activities, increasing the service level, availability, and speed. Increasing the standard of living. Robots working side by side in tight collaboration with people.

Robots have traditionally been confined to cages in the manufacturing industry, but have recently escaped their prisons and become more and more collaborative. New types of service robots are gaining traction and robots can now be seen moving amongst people in some places. My startup Done Robotics is a part of this new trend. We intend to launch services that help to create a safer, more efficient, and more comfortable environment. We will accomplish this using our autonomous self-driving indoor robots engineered from scratch and manufactured in Vaasa, Finland.

By launching as a Robotics as a Service (RaaS) provider, we want to eliminate the technical challenge of programming and configuring robots. Our systems take care of themselves and are a breeze to use. There is no reason why robots should be more difficult to communicate with than humans. More on our RaaS in a future post.

Feel free to reach out to us if you have any interest in service robots. Stay tuned for more Robotics news and information on our services.

Also see my next post about Robotic Disinfection:

--

--