Fist Fighting the Undead (Cont.) VII

T. Maxwell-Harrison
2 min readSep 9, 2022

--

I was hidden behind a thick thorn bush covered in small red cherries as dawn ripped through the yellow sky. My hands throbbed as I crouched and peered down the hill and into the town. It was full of undead, some shambled whilst others stood around groaning. “I can do this,” I whispered. Moments later a flock of crows swooned overhead, cover almost blown. Further in the greying town I saw a few people run — living people — and they struggled but broke their way into a church. The church towered over the other buildings and its spire tower rusted.

Grrr. Undead around me, not, there foul stench carried uphill by the moist breeze. Do I want to live? I asked myself many times. I need a partner, I thought. Two was better, stronger than one. I managed to maneuver through the thick brush to the concrete pavement. Undead although slow had sharp hearing, which still concerned me.

To my left the remnants of an abandoned town, each corner littered with torn bin bags and blood. I can do this. My mind whirled with contemplation as I darted right, before I succumbed to my aching ankle, and hobbled toward the church. Zombies of various looks chased; a policeman, a suited gent, two schoolgirls and the local priest. Each gnawed viciously as I lurched. My hands shaken, each breath a stinging punch to the lung. My eyes deceived me not, the church doors open.

‘Hold them for me!’ I cried out as the two other survivors attempted to shunt the large wooden doors shut. I tripped, navigating left into the side street.

‘Hurry,’ the shorter of the women called back. Undead popped from every crevice, alley and cobble street. I pushed through a splinter in my shin and tumbled across the doorstep onto the stone church floor. The woman pulled me in, surprised at her strength and exhausted my vision faded.

The doors slammed, and undead slammed and scratched at the wood. I could see slick silver streaks run my vision. The other lady petite, her arms layered with scars and her wide eyes and pale face traumatised…

--

--

T. Maxwell-Harrison

A writer of horror and zombie apocalypse fiction among others.