Speck: Chapter 3 -Light, No Day

Tom Maglish
Adventures of Speck
3 min readMay 22, 2024

--

As a bright light shined into my cabin, I moved closer to get a view of whatever was outside. Light. Bright light. My eyes pained me like needles from lack of use as I attempted to peer out at the outside. No clouds, no shaded obstruction to tint the beams that penetrated through my window. Nothing. Plenty of light, but nothing else. I had to back up from the window until my eyes could adjust to the brilliance. Momentarily blinded by it, I covered the window and redirected my view toward the surroundings within my cabin. Once I regained my sight, I took the cover off the window and attempted to fix my gaze outside once more. The light was bright, even when I held my hand to make a shadow over my face.

When I was alive on Earth, there was a sunrise and a sunset. Between the two there was a day. A day when the entire surroundings were engulfed with colors, shapes, and shades all around. There were things of nature such as trees, plants, and animals of all kinds living off the light. Man-made things blended with nature. All filled with light. As the sun set, the night light shined a shadowy glow until the next sunrise. That was a day. Looking out the window, there was light, but no day. There were no shapes of any kind. No colors. No shades. No day. Just light.

I tried once again and looked out my portal into the light. Perhaps, my eyes weren’t adjusted quite yet to…

--

--

Tom Maglish
Adventures of Speck

Retired. Self published short story book. Working on publishing Children Picture Books. Writing short stories.