Let this chart of Nespresso capsules help you!

Thomas Willemsen
3 min readMay 28, 2019

--

This chart of Nespresso capsules makes your daily coffee choice a little easier. Scroll down for the full quality PDF download.

Hello Nespresso-enjoying folks

After buying a Nespresso Expert coffee machine I got a taste of the wild variety of 25+ capsules. I couldn’t wrap my head around the tastes nor remember which capsules I liked most. There had to be a solution, a simple one. I printed the standard overview chart of all available capsules from Nespresso so I could score them and refine when tasting again. My favorites became clear and I knew which capsules to add to my cart during my next ordering spree.

I’m (too?) organized and structured, so keeping this up to date solved the problem for me. But there were still scenarios where the problem still existed:

  • Whenever feeling experimental I don’t want to take the capsule I like best, I want something more adventurous. But I want it to be a little like…
  • Do you want coffee? Whenever a guest enters the house, there’s no way to guide him fast and smoothly to the right capsule. Ending in ‘Espresso or Lungo?’ and me just choosing one.
  • Regular visitors who act like they are at home (and they should do so, e.g. babysitter, parents, …) but aren’t at home in the Nespresso ecosystem, have to remake a random choice again and again.
Photo by T.H. Chia on Unsplash

So what could I improve? I missed the relationship between the capsules. After some research on existing charts, I couldn’t find an existing solution. They mostly just show the data of Nespresso in a more complete and print ready visualization, but they keep the standard Intense/Lungo/Master Origin/… segmentation and don’t compare them with each other.

I decided to create my own solution, mapping the capsules on the two characteristics anyone knows about how he likes his favorite coffee:

  • Strength. Do you like it strong or do you prefer it mild? Or something in between?
  • Size. A shot or a big cup? Ristretto, Espresso, Lungo or Americano?

You will find strength on the x-axis. Size is on the y-axis. So with an answer to these two questions, this chart will drill down the choice to a group of two to four capsules. With the aromatic profile of each capsule, you’ll be able to take the final guessing out and to deliver the perfect blend of coffee for your, or your guest’s, wishes.

Download the full, printable PDF version of this homemade chart.

This chart helps me in taking the guesswork out of the broad Nespresso capsule collection. I’m sure it can help you too. Download it, print it, hang it near your Nespresso machine and enjoy your choice!
Any feedback, comment, or an extra idea that would make your choice easier and this chart better? Don’t hesitate, let me know in the responses!

For great coffee moments to come
Regards

a(n) (N)espresso fan

Oh, yes, I will be updating this chart regularly when new (limited) editions appear or disappear. And since you can just print it on a normal sized paper, write on it! Add your personal score to each capsule so you know which ones to order when you're almost through your stock. Take your favorite highlighter color and show the tastes you have available. Cross the ones you don’t like. Make your choice as easy as possible, and make the best choice, every time again.

--

--