What you didn’t know about Bangalore’s UB City

TWS Deep Dive: Sumeru (Bangalore, India)

Those Who Spot
3 min readDec 17, 2019
Sumeru, Bangalore, India (@sv918)

… I love meeting people with the same interests. It's a blessing in this complicated world.

“I’m 22 years old, pursuing to be an engineer and also a part-time photographer. More like a hobby to be specific and a hardcore petrolhead. My first earliest car spotting memory was a Lamborghini Murcielago back in year 2014 when I had been to Bangkok, Thailand for vacation.”

“When I started, I wanted to capture these beautiful machines which were pretty rare in my country back in the day and wanted to share it with people. Later it turned out to be my hobby. And in year 2015, it was the first time that I ventured out to some exotic locations in my city where cool whips are usually a common sight.”

On Instagram @sv918: Three’s a party #Mysorecars
#Gwagon #Boxster #mgbwgarage

I once sneaked into a 5-Star hotel’s carpark to spy on a car …

“My favourite car spotting place is UB City on Lavelle Road in Bangalore. It’s the one place where you can spot most of these supercars on a weekend. Camera and lens are my only essential gear on car spotting trips. I started with an iPhone 4, then later bought a DSLR. ”

“My most embarrassing car spotting experience was probably in 2016. I once sneaked into a 5-Star hotel’s carpark to spy on a car when the Guards asked me to leave. It was awful nevertheless.”

“Car spotting can be very addicting, but in a good way if you enjoy doing it although I got a bit deviated from studies and more involved in this. I’m looking forward to the upcoming supercar events.”

On Instagram @sv918: Heritage connection 🇬🇧🇮🇳 #Jaguar #XKR #Bangalore (Vidhana Soudha)

When I started, I wanted to capture these beautiful machines…

“My most memorable car spot was of a BMW i8, Porsche Carrera S, Lamborghini Aventador, and Aston Martin Rapide balling out together. It was the first time in my life I ever saw these cars caravan together. It was surreal. So low, so noisy.”

“My greatest achievement was getting to drive in a Porsche Turbo S back in 2018. With the help of my Instagram account, it was easy to talk to the car owner.”

“It can be tiring as hell, and it’s annoying when I miss out on a car that I actually want to see. But I love meeting people with the same interests. It's a blessing in this complicated world.”

Find Sumeru on Instagram: @sv918

If you like what you read, consider clapping for this article. It helps us out a lot.

--

--

Those Who Spot

TWS believes that stories connect people. We want to put the focus on the human behind the camera. Glimpse into the experiences of other car-spotters like you.