(J…)’s preferred learning/design method. :: The Ph scale.

Joshua.
3 min readSep 2, 2018

--

This post is part of the suicide prevention system I designed. :: to start from the beginning (or just to acquaint yourself) :: clink or click this linky link.

Music I’m listening to, while editing this post. :: https://soundcloud.com/search?q=Jazz%20rap

Alright, so… complacency is dangerous. :: Just watch (nearly) any Gordon Ramsey video publication…

So how can you flip complacency on it’s ear, and progress daily, weekly, and monthly?

The Ph Scale…

Think of water, a ph scale of 7.
An acidic substance is anything from 0–6.9, and a basic (can still give you a chemical burn) substance is 7.1–10.

Let’s say, you wanna learn how to ollie or learn how to Palm coins and perform magic.

Once you ollie, the challenge is neutral. :: If you don’t ollie, for a while, the Ph level gets out of whack, and you’ll have to re.learn the ollie.

If you ollie 1900 times every day… you’ll be stuck in micro and you’ll be basic. (Unless you start ollieing down HUGE gaps… :: Because that’s just another progression.)

Most people are stuck in their version of ollieing 1900 times every day. :: Whether we’re referring to flipping burgers, or winning poker hands. :: Diversity makes you interesting, being interesting doesn’t make you diverse, and being diverse makes you valuable (to yourself) :: I really don’t care what your boss thinks about you, I care what you think about you...

The way T.Ferriss and… (Sorry I gotta look up his first name :: but the book is called “The one thing.”) Jay Papasan and Gary Keller (<<I actually thought the guy’s name was Campbell.) put it is “to focus on one thing.”

But I’m a designer, so I can’t just “omit” good ideas and advice, however, I can… (and do) tweak the good inputs…

My one thing, is everything. (Meta, macro, and micro.)

So once a week (T.Ferriss suggestion, if you’re not doing the activity once a week, you lose your ability to perform that activity.) I schedule (literally, a time, and day of the week) the medium or activity.

If I’m in a wet, drizzly, humid part of the world for a few days, I feel my street performing “muscles” atrophy (waste away/decline).

So the idea is to learn (emotion positive things) once, and never unlearn them. (If you learn emotion negative things… :: Just wait it out… :: acceptance is a process.)

In this case, (on a macro scale) my ph scale for vacations, is ~7…
And there’s only two elements to vacations that matter.

Time and Effort.

And there’s only two elements to each element that matter.

Time :: Funding and Effort.

Effort :: Active and inactive effort.

(Each of the four can be split into two…) + (Each of those eight can be split into two…) = Depending on your lifestyle design choices, this will be different for everyone.

As for me (today) there were lots of wet weather, I spent most of my day doing mental workouts…

Here’s what I did today…

Teaser(s). ::
I’m working on Backside kickflipping a 2ft x 2ft chess board using “wobble chess pieces” (set up for a game.)

Deciding what’s more important to invest in… :: The stock market or a camera, if I buy the cam, I gotta buy a new tripod...

The world’s first (probably) pendulum skate.box. (image below.)

Blogging.

All this is fine, because my body really needed a day of rest. :: I’ve been active for ~11–13 hours a day, for 11 days straight.

The skate.box swings, based on the skater’s inertia. :: I’ll build this later, it’s in my queue to “Nose.stall it, get it to swing, pop out, nose.manual, nollie.varial.flip out of the Nose.manual.”

--

--