I lowered my LDL cholesterol from 4.32 to 1.8 mmol/L in 21 days. Is that enough?

Tho Yow Kin
6 min readMar 11, 2023

This article is not medical advice. I am writing as I just had a heart attack on the 2nd of Feb 2023 (read more). I am just sharing my own experience going through the process and a few of my followers have asked how I managed to lower my cholesterol. I had a stent put into my left descending artery which was 95% blocked. My cardiologist said my cholesterol was an issue and he put me on statin drugs to lower my cholesterol. It was in the hospital that I was passed 3 books by a close friend to read. My friend advised me to read “Prevent and Reverse Heart Disease” by Caldwell Esselstyn Jr. (Esselstyn, 2007) first. The book advised a very strict plant diet to lower cholesterol.

Plant Diet

Dr. Esselstyn was working in the Cleveland Clinic and started a program in October 1985 for 12 years. The program goal was to reduce the cholesterol level of patients with advanced coronary artery disease to below 150mg/dL or 3.88mmol/L with a plant-based diet. This cholesterol number was influenced by two studies, the China Study (watch this for more) and the Framingham Heart Study (read more)

China Study and Framingham Heart Study

China Study

The China study was a collaborative effort between the Chinese Academy of Preventive Medicine, Oxford University, and Cornell University. Before…

--

--

Tho Yow Kin

My degree is in Electronics Engineering. I enjoy coding, data analytics and am moving into AI. Running is a serious hobby and I enjoy teaching.