An Author Interview with Erin Louis

Lee Pletzers
5 min readAug 19, 2023

A horror writer

Lee Pletzers’ Interview — Erin Louis

1. Tell us about you and your writing, be it novels, screenplays, or non-fiction. Do you have a book coming out or already released?

My first 2 nonfiction books Memoirs of a Stripper and Think you want to be a Stripper, are about my time as an exotic dancer. I began writing as a way to help dispel some of the stereotypes and misconceptions around my former profession. My 3rd nonfiction book Expose Yourself, is about taking risks, humanism and critical thinking. I write about those topics using humorous anecdotes and analogies from my time as a dancer. I have 2 full length fiction novels. Stripper Noir is cowritten with Armand Rosamillia and is a crime novel set in Vegas, and South of Heaven is about a stripper who gets into Heaven on a technicality and finds that it isn’t what she thought it was going to be. Both of those are published with Hellbound Books LLC. My latest is a zombie novella called “Dance with the Dead” to be included along with novellas written by Armand Rosamilia and the late Jay Wilburn in Crystal Lake Publishing’s The Dead Shall Rise as part of their Dark Tide series.

2. What is the first book that hit you emotionally?

If frightened is an emotion, I would have to say Stephen King’s IT. I was about 12 when I read it the first time and had nightmares for years. It was the book that hooked me on horror. But it’s a tricky question to answer. Books whether they were read to me as a kid, or ones that I read myself, have always struck me in a way that other art mediums haven’t. I have loved them and the emotions they induce for as long as I can remember.

3. What is your writing Kryptonite?

My part time job has to take priority over my writing most of the time. Although I might have to admit that I haven’t always put it first when I have something I am desperate to get on the page.

4. Have you ever gotten reader’s block?

Yes, but very rarely, and usually with nonfiction books.

5. Do you write under your real name or a pseudonym? What do you think are the benefits and disadvantages of using a pseudonym?

Because I started writing about my time as an exotic dancer when my son was young, I use a pen last name that is a variation of my real name.

6. What would it be if you could tell your younger writing self, anything?

Don’t worry, just write it.

7. What was the best money you ever spent as a writer?

On my website and graphic designer.

8. How do you maximize your writing time?

I spend a lot of time thinking and planning what I am going to write. Once something has bounced around my head for a while, it comes out easy. Although, it tends to make me look like I am brooding or in a bad mood. So I have learned to warn my family that I’m not angry or upset but trapped in a story.

9. What are three things you must have in your writing space to stay focused?

I like to light a candle, have my wrist rest, and for some reason my son’s cat. She ended up being the inspiration for the serial killer in Stripper Noir. One thing I must not have in the room with me is my phone.

10. Do you normally think of the plot first or the characters first? Can you describe the process?

Usually it’s the plot. Then I picture the characters and what their worlds look like. Other than that I’m not sure I have a perfected process. I follow the story in my head, and I’m not always sure where I’m going until I get there.

Image provided by publisher

11. How many hours a day do you write?

That very much depends on my job and domestic duties. But I have several blocks of time that I set aside to write. Usually around 5 to 10 hours a week.

12. What one thing would you give up to become a better writer?

One thing I did give up, was my guest room. When I first started writing, my desk was in my family room. But since converting my guest room to a dedicated office/writing space, my writing, productivity, and focus has been greatly improved.

13. Do you believe in writer’s block? How do you deal with it?

I didn’t know that it was something to believe in. I have encountered times where I just didn’t know how to move past a place where I got stuck. Long walks or trips to a thrift or antique store help me to clear my mind and let my ideas float around my brain for a while. Or sometimes I simply stop thinking about writing all together for a little while and the block simply dissolves on its own.

Bonus Q 1: Do you think writers should write books according to what readers want, or according to what they are passionate about?

I think it depends. My gut says only write what you’re passionate about, and I think that should be the ideal. But if you’re a full-time writer and living on that income, I think considering what the readers want would have to carry more weight. But I would hope that my readers and I have the same passions and a compromise wouldn’t be necessary.

Bonus Q 2: What are the most common pitfalls for amateur writers? Or, what are some pitfalls you wish you could’ve avoided as a beginning writer?

Not having the correct editor or not understanding the importance of the marketing and promotion aspect of writing and publishing.

Thank you very much for taking the time to answer my questions.

To find out more follow these links:

Erinlouis.com

Amazon
https://www.amazon.com/stores/Erin-Louis/author/B00QSHHOW6

Audible
https://www.audible.com/author/Erin-Louis/B00QSHHOW6

--

--

Lee Pletzers

Award winning New Zealand horror and thriller author. 7 novels (2 with a publisher), 76 shorts in mags. Support me - get free book: https://ko-fi.com/thrillernz