An Author Interview with Robert W. Bly

prolific fiction and non-fiction author

Lee Pletzers
5 min readMay 25, 2023
Provided by the publisher

1. Tell us about you and your writing, be it novels, screenplays, or non-fiction. Do you have a book coming out or already released?

Since 1982, I have written more than 100 published books — one short story collection, the rest nonfiction. My new book comes out in June 2023 from Crystal Lake Publishing: The Science Fictionary: A Dictionary of Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror.

2. What is the first book that hit you emotionally?

I am 65 and cannot recall that far back. Sorry. Many books have hit me emotionally over the decades. The Prince of Tides and A Prayer for Owen Meany are 2 at the top of the list.

3. What is your writing Kryptonite?

Boredom. I avoid taking on writing projects that bore me. I have designed my whole writing career primarily to avoid boredom.

4. Have you ever gotten reader’s block? In life?

No. With a given book? Yes, many times. When I was young, I was determined to finish reading every book I started. Now, in the autumn of my life, I quickly exit books that I am not enjoying.

5. Do you write under your real name or a pseudonym? What do you think are the benefits and disadvantages of using a pseudonym?

I write under Robert W. Bly using my middle initial, because if my byline was just “Robert Bly,” people would think I was the poet.

Photo by Super Snapper on Unsplash

6. What would it be if you could tell your younger writing self, anything?

In my youth, I wrote a lot of fiction which I could not sell. I would tell my younger self to start with nonfiction, which is easier to sell and yet just as rewarding and fun to write.

7. What was the best money you ever spent as a writer?

My Generac back-up generator. As a busy working writer with constant deadlines, I cannot afford unanticipated computer down-time when there are storms or the power goes out for any other reason. With the back-up generator, I never lose power in my home office for more than one minute.

8. How do you maximize your writing time?

Basically, the only thing I do at work is write, whether my books or copy (ads, websites, sales letters) for corporate clients. All else I outsource to assistants. So mostly all of my work time is all for writing.

Photo by Johannes Plenio on Unsplash

9. What are three things you must have in your writing space to stay focused?

Music; a window overlooking nature (our heavily wooded one-acre backyard); and pop culture; e.g. action figures, toys, posters, and photographs.

10. Do you normally think of the plot first or the characters first? Can you describe the process?

For short stories, a plot idea. Example: what if a superhero wanted to retire, but could not qualify for Social Security because he never worked a regular job?

11. How many hours a day do you write?

I work 10 hours a day.

Used to be 12 or more, but at 65, I am slowing down.

12. What one thing would you give up to become a better writer?

I can’t think of anything that, if I gave it up, WOULD make me a better writer. But there are probably SOME things I would give up on IF doing so it made me a better writer; e.g. not playing music anymore, no more chocolate, etc.

13. Do you believe in writer’s block? How do you deal with it?

I avoid it by always having multiple projects to work on at one time. That way, if I get stuck on, bored with, or get tired of working on Project A, I can simply put it aside, move to Project B, and keep going. I learned this from Isaac Asimov.

Provided by the publisher. The Science Fictionary by Robert W. Bly (2 June, 2023)

Bonus Q 1: Do you think writers should write books according to what readers want, or according to what they are passionate about?

Write what interests you. If it interests you, then there are readers out there who will also be interested in it.

Conversely, if you write about a subject just because you think it will sell, but don’t really care about, your lack of enthusiasm will show through in your writing.

Bonus Q 2: What are the most common pitfalls for amateur writers?

Having only a single income stream; e.g., writing novels.

All writers should have multiple income streams. For me, these include: writing sales copy for corporate clients … consulting … writing articles … coaching … consulting … selling information products online … workshops, and public speaking.

Or, what are some pitfalls you wish you could’ve avoided as a beginning writer?

I did lots of things wrong. But the best way to learn is by making mistakes. So I am glad I had the opportunity to make them. Just don’t make a mega-mistake that costs you too dearly.

Thank you very much for taking the time to answer my questions.

It’s my pleasure. I will gladly elaborate on my answers and answer more questions if you wish.

To find out more follow these links:

My bio:

https://www.bly.com/newsite/Pages/about.php

My books:

https://www.bly.com/newsite/Pages/publications.php

My writing website:

www.bly.com

My science fiction website:

http://www.sciencefictionprediction.com/

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Photo by Samantha Ram on Unsplash

Help me save my novel undue embarrassment from entering the world with blemishes by supporting my endeavors to procure an editor via a cup of coffee. Not only is it the elixir of a writer but it’s also the only way I’ll ever afford an editor :-). Buying me a coffee gets you a free gift in the extras link. https://www.buymeacoffee.com/leepletzers

--

--

Lee Pletzers

Award winning New Zealand horror and thriller author. 7 novels (2 with a publisher), 76 shorts in mags. Support me - get free book: https://ko-fi.com/thrillernz