Living in a Rainbow nation as a Xhosa child

Nokuthula Shweni
2 min readNov 7, 2016

--

https://za.pinterest.com/pin/298082069058224639/

Sometimes in the middle of speaking an English sentence, my brain can’t find the English translation of a Xhosa word. Whatever word I eventually use doesn’t seem to be the exact definition but is close enough for people to understand what I mean. Something so simple as not knowing an English word means as much English as I speak and know, I am still more Xhosa than I am an English speaking South African. It affirms my identity as Xhosa in an evolving South Africa where black to black communication is in English. I get that I can’t expect my Pedi and Tsonga friends to communicate in Xhosa. Just like they do not expect me to reply in their native languages but sometimes all you really want is to connect with another person in your mother tongue.

I pride myself in being able to speak my language so it is my duty to pass that pride on to my next generation.

This pride has made me promise myself to organize a Xhosa tutor for my unborn child since it is unlikely it will be offered in whatever school I enroll them in.

With us moving away from wearing traditional attire as a daily outfit and communicating in vernacular only, I want my child to know what makes South Africa a rainbow nation, what makes them a Xhosa child, what makes them different to an English born child.

Them being aware of that difference is important for their identity and growth. They will also be able to understand how the Xhosa side of them shapes how they perceive life and people. The part of themselves they inherited from their mother’s mother. The part of them that completes the piece of the rainbow nation puzzle.

--

--