Tianahbim
1 min readMar 21, 2023

AHIMSA

Today, I learnt about this term called 'AHIMSA' in the yoga tradition.
'AHIMSA' means non-violence; compassion.
It is the absence of violence in physical, mental and emotional forms.

Our thoughts have an important impact on how we feel overall, so if you are still thinking negatively, you can bet you're not feeling as good as you could.

Ahimsa means being mindful of our thoughts.

When we think negatively, our immune systems are weakened, making us more prone to disease and discomfort.

I remember seeing an image somewhere which indicates that when you are angry, it affects your brain while unforgiveness affects your heart.
So take note, those feelings of jealousy, resentment and hate feelings which you think you are directing at other people- also come back to hurt you.

So just like in the words of Lao Tzu, “Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habits. Watch your habits; they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny.”

So today, take note of what you think about because thereafter it's what shapes your life.

Tianahbim

I write personal reflections, about personal development to inspire others. So basically, through my writing, I want to write words I wish were written for me.